Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Traxxas TRX-4

Notices

Thread: I really want the G Made SR03 wheels on my Defender.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-14-2022, 05:11 PM   #1

Default I really want the G Made SR03 wheels on my Defender.

I have to compliment SVT923 on his amazing write up on wheels, what a fantastic job. He mentioned that the G Made wheel will fit the trx4 and I'm partial to the G made SR03's, but I want to have them 1-2mm wider than the stock defender set-up. The SR03's have a positive 2mm offset. What do I need to do to counter act this positive offset. I plan on mounting the stock Canyon Trail tires. I read about using a narrower tamiya hex nut and extended stub axles with longer threads but I'm new to this and just not sure on what to do. Any and all help is certainly appreciated. I wanted to post a pic of the SR02 but apparently I can't post attachments, but spec's are below. Thanks

Specs:
Width: 22mm
Diameter: 48mm (1.9inch)
Offset: 2mm positive offset
Hex size: 12mm
Ovok is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 03-14-2022, 05:31 PM   #2
Slow is the new Fast

Default Re: I really want the G Made SR03 wheels on my Defender.

you need longer wheel hubs
smog is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2022, 06:43 PM   #3

OK, but how long? Is there a specific size I need?
Old 03-14-2022, 06:45 PM   #4
I wanna be Dave

That wheel does not fit if you add portal weights BTW. It easily the heaviest wheels I have owned (2lbs with tires and foams). I'm not a fan of the offset as they rub the steering link on everything I try to put them on. The hub is also built into the wheel so the only option is a wider hex... if it leaves enough threads for a wheel nut. MIP makes extended axles:
https://www.rpphobby.com/product_p/mip18260.htm

They look nice but I've had my set shelved for a few years, I cant really recommend these wheels.
HumboldtEF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2022, 06:45 PM   #5