Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Traxxas TRX-4

Notices

Thread: TRX4 Sport Kit recommendations

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-20-2019, 09:38 AM   #1

Default TRX4 Sport Kit recommendations

Hi Folks,

I’m completely new to this hobby with zero experience with electronics and was wondering if purchasing the TRX4 sport kit as my first ever RC would be too overwhelming? I want to learn the actual mechanics of the vehicle but don’t want to be frustrated with my first building experience. I’m located in Canada and the kit retails for $379 and the RTR goes for $450. On average how much more will I need to spend to get it running, of course minus the battery and charger. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Glenn
GMSYYZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 04-20-2019, 05:30 PM   #2

Default Re: TRX4 Sport Kit recommendations

I'm going to say just get the RTR if it is your first ever RC vehicle. I say this because if its your first RC, you'll want some immediate gratification from the hobby to see if you like it or not first. With a kit, you might end up biting off more than you can chew with the seemingly endless component choices, trying to learn about electronics, brushed vs brushless, debating on which components are best for you, etc... Sometimes it's best to get out there and run a stock truck and see if the hobby, as a whole, is for you or not. Then dive into the deep end after checking it out for a bit.

If you already know RC is for you, are willing to learn as you go, and understand that the build may take some time (research, parts gathering, build, & fine tuning), then a kit is a the most economical way to max out your trx-4.

You'll need these parts to complete it (not including charger/battery):
- 540 or 550 sized Motor
- Electronic speed controller
- High torque/metal gear servo
- Radio transmitter and receiver
rschoi_75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2019, 07:08 PM   #3