Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Traxxas TRX-4

Notices

Thread: TRX-4 free/cheap mods

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-22-2019, 05:26 PM   #1

Default TRX-4 free/cheap mods

What’s up guys broke college kid here. I’m fairly new to the hobby and was wondering what kind of free or cheap mods you guys run on your TRX-4? I already upgraded the esc to a hw1080 and installed a savox 1230 Servo and that just about blew the crawler budget haha What kind of things have you done to improve suspension performance? What kind of brass upgrades do you recommend? I’ve also been looking into either the team rafee or yeah racing metal axle housings any advice on those? I have the bronco btw. Thanks in advance guys y’all are great!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Bigbush979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 04-22-2019, 08:20 PM   #2
RCC Addict

Default Re: TRX-4 free/cheap mods

SSD portal weights. A free mod is to take the shocks apart and remove the lower O-ring retainer, lube the O-rings with Green Slime and replace the retainer leaving it about 1/4 turn loose. This will free up the shocks and make them buttery smooth. You can now tune the shocks with a number of optional rate springs from Traxxas and adjust the reaction time by changing shock oil weights.
Inspector86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2019, 03:32 AM   #3
RCC Addict

Don't go crazy with the brass. With all the aftermarket parts out there, it's easy to get carried away and add too much weight. Lotta ppl like the SSD covers and I too have no complaints with their parts but I went with MFR portal covers on my Bronco and LockedUp RC steel covers on my Defender. Both are machined very well... fit/ finish is top notch.