Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Traxxas TRX-4

Notices

Thread: Long travel for 60 bucks. Prepare to read.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-02-2020, 05:01 AM   #1

Default Long travel for 60 bucks. Prepare to read.

All I bought was the servo drop and 110mm desert lizard shocks. There are a couple main limit issues with getting more travel if you already have longer shocks. Just be aware that the front is the main issue.

1. Drive shaft angle limit(free)
2. Steering servo link limit. (Around 9 bucks)
3. Shocks (around 50 bucks for Desert Lizard 110)

The first I tackled was the front upper link. All I did was unscrew the upper link until I saw the first thread. In my profesional opinion this wont affect the strength, I machine for a living. This fixes the drivshaft angle limit.

There is a caveat to doing this. Your servo could be stressed more if not done right. You want that limit there if you have a weak servo. Traxxas L.T. kit won't help you here at all. The upper link on the LT KIT is 5mm longer but the bottom links are also longer, that will help limit your shaft limit thus help your servo. (DL shocks can limit too)

The next was the servo link limit. I first planned on heating the plastic baljoints to bend them more. Until I saw the price of a servo drop. This completely fixes the servo link limit, to an extent. *In the pictures you can see that even with the servo drop at full tilt, passenger full decompression, the servo link limits it slightly.