Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Traxxas TRX-4
Loading

Notices

Thread: How did you mount your HW 1080?

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-04-2020, 09:33 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Berwick
Posts: 29
Default How did you mount your HW 1080?

I am putting my trx4 sport kit together. I am to the esc. The HW 1080 comes with double sided tape. Will that suffice?

Also it had me mount the receiver box so the input part faces backwards. I have an Amazon special servo and the wire isn't long enough to reach if I have it orientated that way. Is it ok to run the receiver box backwards?

And for paint, what am I looking in for paint? I know there's the Tamiya sprays that cost like 12$ a can.

I have some touch up spray for my car that is actually a beautiful metallic blue, would that not work out? Or what specifically about the RC sprays is it that makes them used so often over others?

Sent from my LM-G850 using Tapatalk
ParkeyOh is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 07-04-2020, 11:07 PM   #2
Quarry Creeper
 
Fricker08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Wilsonville
Posts: 333
Default How did you mount your HW 1080?

Iím not 100% how the stock box mounts, Iím sure someone will chime in. But if the screw holes line up, thereís no reason you shouldnít be able to flip the box.
I used double sided tape on my 1080, so far so good!
Lexan paint has etching properties that makes it stick. It sprays flat and gives it a gloss look through the outside. Itís about $7 online everywhere
You can paint them on the outside, but itís best to lay down some lexan paint to let it stick then your next paint will lay over that no problem.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Fricker08 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2020, 11:09 PM   #3
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Canada
Posts: 201
Default Re: How did you mount your HW 1080?

I used double sided tape for mounting my 1080. Works great and you can peel it off if you need to later.

You have to use the PS labled tamyia paints at they're designed to flex without cracking. The lexan body's that RC's use flex a lot so they dont just crack in half the first time you crash, so you need to use the right paints to go with it.

You can mount your box backwards, there's pretty much no rules. If you can make it work, go for it! However i opted for a cable extension for that exact purpose. I like it because i can remove my servo or esc without having to ooen up the reciever box and deal with those seals and grease etc.
mr_alister is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2020, 07:22 AM   #4
Rock Stacker
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Orlando
Posts: 83
Default Re: How did you mount your HW 1080?

For my Sport I 3D printed a mount that i found on Thingiverse and then used the doublesided tape to hold the ESC in the mount. The mount is nice because it holds the power switch too.

20vmki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2020, 07:52 AM   #5
Rock Stacker
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 54
Default Re: How did you mount your HW 1080?

I use 3M dual-lock.

https://www.homedepot.com/p/3M-Scotc...6761/204465400



The adhesive sticks great and you can pop the esc off as needed. I mounted the switch in a spot thatís easy to access from the front fenderwell with the body mounted.

I really like the 3D printed mounts since they look so clean and it also provides easy removal. I may do one later but the dual lock is quick and works great.
Forker45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2020, 08:30 AM   #6
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Northern MN
Posts: 265
Default Re: How did you mount your HW 1080?

I agree with the double sided tape. For me a little goes a long way.
Benp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2020, 08:45 AM   #7
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Murphy
Posts: 351
Default Re: How did you mount your HW 1080?

Like others I use double sided tape to mount my esc's and other things. Have never had a failure as long as I cleaned both surfaces with alcohol.
Gramps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2020, 05:03 PM   #8
RCC Addict
 
Inspector86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 1,713
Default Re: How did you mount your HW 1080?

I also use double sided tape but it does come loose after a few years of heat cycling. I also used a 6" servo extension cable to extend the serve cable to the receiver.
Inspector86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



How did you mount your HW 1080? - Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hobbywing 1080, power button mount local? NitroDarwin Axial RR10 Bomber 11 09-11-2017 07:42 AM
Русские идут (the Russian is coming) - our ironworker goes Scale... nicodrive01 Scale Videos! 8 05-07-2011 10:33 PM
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com