Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Traxxas TRX-4
Loading

Notices

Thread: Lightbar on On/Off switch?

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-08-2020, 01:45 PM   #1
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Big Island, Hawaii
Posts: 153
Default Lightbar on On/Off switch?

Is it possible to put my lightbar and light buckets on an on/off switch?
ScaleLifeNewbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 07-08-2020, 01:48 PM   #2
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Brookfield
Posts: 161
Default Re: Lightbar on On/Off switch?

If you have thre extra channels and buttons on your radio yes. Or get a remote if you don't have enough channels. Rc4wd makes one. That's what I used in one of my rigs.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
Dirt Runner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2020, 01:54 PM   #3
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Big Island, Hawaii
Posts: 153
Default Re: Lightbar on On/Off switch?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dirt Runner View Post
If you have thre extra channels and buttons on your radio yes. Or get a remote if you don't have enough channels. Rc4wd makes one. That's what I used in one of my rigs.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
What about a switch on the chassis?
ScaleLifeNewbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2020, 01:57 PM   #4
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Brookfield
Posts: 161
Default Re: Lightbar on On/Off switch?

You can do it that way to. You can use a servo lead extension hooked up to an empty channel and plug the lights in when you want then on also.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
Dirt Runner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2020, 02:00 PM   #5
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Big Island, Hawaii
Posts: 153
Default Re: Lightbar on On/Off switch?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dirt Runner View Post
You can do it that way to. You can use a servo lead extension hooked up to an empty channel and plug the lights in when you want then on also.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
Cool, thank you!

What does the RC4WD light controller plug into?
ScaleLifeNewbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2020, 02:35 PM   #6
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Brookfield
Posts: 161
Default Re: Lightbar on On/Off switch?

Just need to make a lead to the battery or esc. The lights hook up ro thre black box and thre remote will work up ro 4 lights.

https://www.horizonhobby.com/RC4ZE00...oaAjC6EALw_wcB

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
Dirt Runner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2020, 02:51 PM   #7
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Big Island, Hawaii
Posts: 153
Default Re: Lightbar on On/Off switch?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dirt Runner View Post
Just need to make a lead to the battery or esc. The lights hook up ro thre black box and thre remote will work up ro 4 lights.

https://www.horizonhobby.com/RC4ZE00...oaAjC6EALw_wcB

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

Is there one that can run 5 lights? If not, Iíll just remove my bumper light
ScaleLifeNewbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2020, 02:55 PM   #8
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Big Island, Hawaii
Posts: 153
Default Re: Lightbar on On/Off switch?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ScaleLifeNewbie View Post
Is there one that can run 5 lights? If not, Iíll just remove my bumper light

Never mind, I forgot 4 o& my lights are the same channel
ScaleLifeNewbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2020, 03:04 PM   #9
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Big Island, Hawaii
Posts: 153
Default Re: Lightbar on On/Off switch?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dirt Runner View Post
Just need to make a lead to the battery or esc. The lights hook up ro thre black box and thre remote will work up ro 4 lights.

https://www.horizonhobby.com/RC4ZE00...oaAjC6EALw_wcB

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
Do I need the OEM Traxxas light Kit Power Supply to run it?
ScaleLifeNewbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2020, 03:09 PM   #10
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Brookfield
Posts: 161
Default Re: Lightbar on On/Off switch?

I made a lead to go off the esc.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
Dirt Runner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2020, 03:12 PM   #11
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Big Island, Hawaii
Posts: 153
Default Re: Lightbar on On/Off switch?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dirt Runner View Post
I made a lead to go off the esc.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
Ok, cool! Thank you so much!
ScaleLifeNewbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2020, 03:12 PM   #12
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Brookfield
Posts: 161
Default Re: Lightbar on On/Off switch?

No problem

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
Dirt Runner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2020, 09:04 PM   #13
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Perry
Posts: 229
Default Re: Lightbar on On/Off switch?

Mytrickrc.com has the Dragon setup. I like mine alot!

Sent from my SM-N975U using Tapatalk
aqualungs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2020, 09:53 PM   #14
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Mudville
Posts: 889
Default Re: Lightbar on On/Off switch?

you can get a on/off switch for your remote (3rd plus channel) plug that into a chnl, plug the lights into it off Amazon for about 13.00.
plug it into the 3rd or 4th etc chnl, set your radio, and plug your lights into the controller. inexpensive setups.
some light controllers are always on due to how they are wired, ie, one of mine (have 2 more coming now) is designed for scale lights. ie Headlights, Tail lights brake lights, back up lights, blinkers, as well as has a few constant on lights. But I can't turn it on/off without just unplugging it. it has 2 y leads that also tie into the Steering (blinkers) and Throttle (brakes backup, brights on the headlights also come on as you move forward (after 25% throttle give or take.) Would take a bit of a custom harness to make it work where the signal wires still tie into chnls 1 & 2, but the power wires are wired into a chan or or direct from a bed from the battery With the BEC on the Axe at 7.4v, everything seems to be working just fine, and no issues.

I have another controller here, but it is a flashing controller, setup like they run on Tuners and Drift cars. Not for me in the crawler world.


so there are a few ways to turn your lights on and off. Depending on your light setup.

Fwiw, My Red Cat Axe rig has 24 lights on it. hahaha.
2 always on head lights, 2 that come on moving forward in the head light buckets.
2 tail lights, 2 brake lights (tail lights also get bright on brake) 2 reverse lights in the tail light buckets.
3 turn signal lights on each side, 1 rear, and 2 for the front (one for a side marker pod I have to 3d print and put in/on, and the other in the front bumper outer most holes)
then it has 2 rear bumper lights always on, and 2 front bumper lights always on.

Then I picked up a 4 light bar that I have mounted on the front bumper above where the winch will be when I get one on it, and just above, yet behind the brush bar on the bumper.

I think I will still add rock lights in the wheel wells with a few other ground lights for night running that I can turn on/off. I have 6 channels to play with, and no 2 speed, dig, or lock out options for the Axe rigs. lol So it looks like 3 light sets and a winch.

Last edited by Timmahh; 07-09-2020 at 09:57 PM.
Timmahh is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2020, 10:15 PM   #15
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Big Island, Hawaii
Posts: 153
Default Re: Lightbar on On/Off switch?

Thanks guys, I just went with the most recommended one, the RC4WD 4 channel light controller.
ScaleLifeNewbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
light bar, light buckets, lights, trx4, wiring



Lightbar on On/Off switch? - Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Light Switch for Your Scaler - Firmtronics RC Switch Review roktoy Electronics 29 09-15-2015 02:37 PM
Wiring a switch to switch polarity builder Electronics 5 05-20-2013 07:55 PM
Looking for a lightbar. KnobbyTire Axial SCX-10 7 03-26-2012 01:00 AM
switch wiring for power, do u switch - or + toy4crawlin Electronics 3 09-09-2008 04:59 AM
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com