Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Traxxas TRX-4

Notices

Thread: Noob help

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-01-2022, 02:39 PM   #1

Default Noob help

Hello,

I recently bought TRX4 2022 Bronco. It’s my first rc car. The guy at the HS told me I’d want to upgrade my motor. So I also bought the hobbywing brushless motor/esc all in one. I drove my truck once just to get a feel for it. Then I did the motor upgrade. Got some cool wheels and tires from rc4wd....

After I installed the motor I drove it around my living room to make sure everything was working fine. That’s when I noticed that now my tires (specifically my left front, and rear) kind of lock up. If I manually rotate with my hand, it’s like half rotation it gets tough, then it releases until it rotates around again. If I lock the axles it works fine, and there is no odd noises or clicks.

Now I’m a noob, so maybe this is normal I only noticed it because of slippery hard wood floor. But I wanted to ask, and what could possibly be the problem if there is one.
Cro55BoneZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 10-01-2022, 10:21 PM   #2
Pebble Pounder

Default Re: Noob help

Did you install the new wheels?
Then you maybe tightened the wheel nut too far, the pin in the axle stub deformed and let the hex adapter go a bit too far towards the axle and now it binds to the axle case.
Or the adapter or pin is not centered anymore.

See if there's a little gap between axle case and hex adapter. Maybe sand the adapter down a bit.
amigaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2022, 06:08 AM   #3
Rock Crawler

I've had a similar situation with a new axle purchase. After opening up the diff, I found a small piece of debris in the gears, and once I cleaned and re-lubed the diff, it was smooth as butter. Just adding a different perspective.
58_Willys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2022, 07:58 AM   #4
I wanna be Dave

Quote:
Originally Posted by 58_Willys View Post