Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Unlimited Class Crawlers

Notices

Thread: BC-Brian's Real life Unlimited MOW with a dash of something crazy

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-14-2015, 02:23 PM   #41
RCC Addict

Default Re: BC-Brian's Real life Unlimited MOW with a dash of something crazy

Had a great time in Moapa Vallley at worlds. It was damn hot but the rigs held up. The MOW got a chance to play pretty much every day and held together a lot better than I thought a 3D printed rig would. Going to be looking into new ways to build the gearbox and continuing to harass people for a sensored motor.

Since details were sparse I will fill people in.

The MOW (Motor on wheel) was a concept I had been working on for a little over 2 years. It started as a Pro Rig but found it challenging to fit everything inside a 2.2 wheel like I wanted. With the creation of the Unlimited class and a hint to look at short course wheels I all of a sudden found the room I needed inside the wheel, 2.2" at the face, but the inside is 3.0".

Each wheel has a gearbox made up of modified XR10 gears (thanks to JSlick and Purpt8r for their gear donations) configured as a 25:1. Powering the system is a pretty straightforward 1000kv 22N12 quad copter motor. Calculations put it at ~17mph with a max torque of 6.4 ft-lbs at each wheel (more on that later). Modified voodoos round out the traction system for the crawler.

Each gearbox weighs in at 143g and the total weight of the rig, ready to run is 1865 g's (4.1lbs).

The knuckle was incorporated into the gearbox housing and some plain ole ST Racing Chubs would work well mounted to a 13mm Dia carbon fiber tube to act as the cross brace (since there is no real axle let's not call it that).