Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Vanquish Products VS4-10 Origin

Notices

Thread: Boldfin's VS4-10 with VFD Trans and TRX-4 Axles

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-19-2019, 10:29 AM   #1
Quarry Creeper

Default Boldfin's VS4-10 with VFD Trans and TRX-4 Axles

I'm a newbie still, and this is my first build thread, so go easy. I have modded some RTR's and built a couple of kits, and generally have been having a great time messing with these little trucks for about a year. When the VS4-10 chassis came out, I bought one right away, with the intention of running TRX-4 axles under it to take advantage of the high-clearance design. I bought a set of takeoff TRX-4 Sport axles, and started accumulating additional parts:

Chassis:
VS4-10 Chassis Kit
VS4-10 Extended Shock Tower Clear Anodized (Front and Rear)
Vanquish Products VS4-10/VFD battery and electronics trays
Incision 90mm scale shocks (with soft springs from Incision Scale Shock Spring Set)
Incision Driveshafts for SCX10-2 RTR and SCX10
Incision SCX10-II 12.3" 1/4 Stainless Steel 10pc Link Kit
Incision TRX-4 Stainless Steel Drag Link and Panhard for VS4-10
TRX-4 Sport Axles (Stock gearing in Front & Underdriven Rear)
SSD TRX-4 Brass Portal Weights (front)

Electronics:
Hobbywing AXE 540 2300KV Brushless motor and ESC Combo
ProTek 370TBL servo
Vanquish Clamping 25T Servo Horn 20mm
Spektrum SR315 receiver
Castle Creations BEC 2.0 Waterproof

Initially, I was going to just run an Axial 3-Gear Style transmission, but then the VFD Transmission kit came out, so I decided to try to give that a try. I viewed the very informative videos that Harley put on on calculating FDR and choosing a Spur/Pinion combo to compensate for the gear reduction of portals. I chose to go with a 50T Spur with 21T pinion based on suggestions from members on RCC.

Last night, I started assembling the chassis: