RCCrawler Forums

RCCrawler Forums (http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/)
-   Vaterra Ascender (http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/vaterra-ascender/)
-   -   Wich motor for Ascender (http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/vaterra-ascender/511220-wich-motor-ascender.html)

martoediefroets 10-08-2014 06:54 AM

Wich motor for Ascender

While waiting for the Europe release of the Ascender, i am already getting all the eletronics needed for the build.
It will be my first scaler and i am a noob at scaler trucks and can't decide to go brushed or brushless.
I prefer brushed but brushless is ok to.
What are you guys running ?

zanthrax 10-08-2014 07:02 AM

Re: Wich motor for Ascender

All my 4 crawlers are brushed.
Dirt cheap, and they don't have problems with water/mud. I don't even bother with rebuildable motors. Just throw in a brand new $10 sealed can motor.
I even skimp on the ESCs. I recently tried a Hobbyking one for $9, the only brushed ESC HK carries, It includes a dragbrake. I've been running it in a Sawback with a 45T rc4wd motor. Hasn't given me any problems yet.
I plan on running a quicrun 1060 in my Ascender, after watching a few videos I think 45T is right for the Ascender.

If you go brushless, go for a sensored system, sensorless motors don't run nice at low RPMs.
Tekin and Castle are the popular brands for brushless crawling. I haven't seen many people running Novak systems recently, don't know why.

joe122 10-08-2014 07:02 AM

I will be running the Holmes Hobbies Crawlmaster Expert 13t with a CC SV3. I am using one in one of my SCX10's and really like the low end control, torque, is very affordable and has decent wheel speed. Truly depends on your build target though, all crawl, some trail use and crawling. See the HH website for some good tips regarding motor choices.

M1tch 10-08-2014 07:20 AM