Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Vaterra Scale Rock Crawlers > Vaterra Ascender

Notices

Thread: Wich motor for Ascender

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-08-2014, 06:54 AM   #1
Rock Stacker

Default Wich motor for Ascender

While waiting for the Europe release of the Ascender, i am already getting all the eletronics needed for the build.
It will be my first scaler and i am a noob at scaler trucks and can't decide to go brushed or brushless.
I prefer brushed but brushless is ok to.
What are you guys running ?
martoediefroets is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 10-08-2014, 07:02 AM   #2
Pebble Pounder

Default Re: Wich motor for Ascender

All my 4 crawlers are brushed.
Dirt cheap, and they don't have problems with water/mud. I don't even bother with rebuildable motors. Just throw in a brand new $10 sealed can motor.
I even skimp on the ESCs. I recently tried a Hobbyking one for $9, the only brushed ESC HK carries, It includes a dragbrake. I've been running it in a Sawback with a 45T rc4wd motor. Hasn't given me any problems yet.
I plan on running a quicrun 1060 in my Ascender, after watching a few videos I think 45T is right for the Ascender.

If you go brushless, go for a sensored system, sensorless motors don't run nice at low RPMs.
Tekin and Castle are the popular brands for brushless crawling. I haven't seen many people running Novak systems recently, don't know why.
zanthrax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2014, 07:02 AM   #3
RCC Addict

I will be running the Holmes Hobbies Crawlmaster Expert 13t with a CC SV3. I am using one in one of my SCX10's and really like the low end control, torque, is very affordable and has decent wheel speed. Truly depends on your build target though, all crawl, some trail use and crawling. See the HH website for some good tips regarding motor choices.
joe122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2014, 07:20 AM   #4
RCC Addict