Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Vaterra Scale Rock Crawlers > Vaterra Ascender

Notices

Thread: Work in progress

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-02-2016, 02:18 PM   #1

Default Work in progress

Well been a long time lurker. Posted the odd question but haven't really had the chance to share much of my build.

Picked up an ascender kit last year and built it over the course of a few weeks. Took my time as this was my first crawler build. Not new to rc but complete noob to crawling. Just built for fun with hopes to get a couple of buddies into the crawling. Figured slower vehicles would be less damage on an outing.

So started with the ascender kit, using an ae5 esc and savox water proof servo with cc bec and picked up a futaba 4pls.

Well things progressed and i tried some axial bead locks with pitbull rock beasts. Really nice tire i found them quite grippy and worked well. Then added an rc4wd warn winch. Shortly after that came the vaterra aluminum body shocks (really like these although quite pricey) and a small light kit. Changed the rear bumper to a steel rc4wd bumper. Also picked up some rc4wd dick cepek wheels (1.9), these are really nicely done. Putting the tires on was a bit of a chore but i read about some tips which eventually saved me. I won't lie, the first tire took longer to mount then the remaining 3.