Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Vaterra Scale Rock Crawlers > Vaterra Ascender

Notices

Thread: Android's K5 Blazer

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-24-2016, 03:36 PM   #1
Rock Stacker

Default Android's K5 Blazer

Hi folks!

Another ascender noob here
Just got my RTR delivered. This far I've resoldered the battery plug to XT60 - I'll run it on 3s packs I have plenty of, and did a little test run around the living room.
Also couldn't wait any longer and did the obligatory mods - trimmed the wheel arches a bit, cut some 5mm off front and back lip, lowered the body 3 holes lower, and also lowered the suspension a bit. Now it looks way better. Tomorrow I'm planning on modding the stock shocks.
I also had the Axial exterior trim pack delivered - installed the mirrors and windshield wipers - they do look on the small side, but still better than without.
As the winter is coming (brace yourselves), I have some ideas on what to do next:
1.relocate the motor and gearbox to the front - not going to use the GCMRacing kit, but I'll build something like that myself - I have a good friend with the CNC machine, and some ideas on how to do it a little bit different way. I also have RC4WD transfer case laying around from my previous build, and some some spares from Traxxas Slash I sold a while ago.
2. do the rear shock tower removal - not sure which way - the cantilever or the GCMRacing way by installint the inward looking shocks.
3. Build the inner fenders and try to build the interior out of styrene - I have some minor experience with the styrene.
4. Change wheels/tires and maybe repaint the body in military camo style - love how the GCMRaging's M1009 looks, I'll try something alike.
5. Depending on how all this turns out I'll consider buying the RC4WD Blazer body - it seems to fit on the ascender chassis in terms of size... some serious modding is unavoidable though.

At this moment I'm having two issues I need your advice on: