Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Vaterra Scale Rock Crawlers > Vaterra Ascender

Notices

Thread: Torque twist

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-10-2017, 05:50 PM   #1

Default Torque twist

Hello, I'm still fairly new to the hobby and wanting to learn. My OCD is taken over on the torque twist in the rear of the truck. I have done all the common tricks and mods that have been discussed on here. IE rulr, drilling out pistons on the shocks and filling them with 30wt, outboarding rear shocks, wraith sway bar kit in the rear. I've dropped the body down I forget how many holes on the mounts but I would guess 1/4".
In my head I'm thinking when the twist happens in an off camber situation the power won't be equal and the risk of rolling because of the weight moving to that side. Also a stuck situation because of the weight shift and the other tire won't be in contact to the ground as much as the other side.
My current setup is as follows:
All shocks/ suspension has a 60/40 split of compression/droop. 60% on the compression.
30wt in front shocks, rears are 40wt and all piston are drilled with a #55 bit. The reason of the 40wt in the rear was to slow the shock down. Also limited the shocks internally 6mm.
I installed the rulr I made out of aluminum. It's running down the side of the frame rail not just a mount like some. So I don't have any deflection when suspension is working.
I'm running both codyboy axles and steering setup. With aluminum link braces on both.
Installed wraith front sway bar kit with the softest rod that came in the kit. I mounted it to the rear of the truck with rod ends at the cross member.
Now all this has lessened the twist but it still wants to dip about 1/4". When I let out the throttle the suspension doesn't want to reset it still hangs to the left not much but still leans.