Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Vaterra Scale Rock Crawlers > Vaterra Ascender

Notices

Thread: New Vaterra Ascender: Issues? Pls Help a Noob

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-28-2017, 07:21 PM   #1

Default New Vaterra Ascender: Issues? Pls Help a Noob

So, today I received a giant package. My new RTR Ascender and my 1st real RC - from RCPlanet. Everything is there, and shipping was fast.

I charged the battery and went to the back yard. So much fun! And the dogs going crazy barking...

Now, I noticed two things and I need help. As I said, I am a total RC noob.

1) Steering
If I steer to the right, the front wheels turn right... a lot, and I like it.
If I steer to the left, the front wheels turn left... but not as much as to the right.
Can I adjust that?

2) Squeaky Noise
It seems that both front and rear drive shafts are squeaking (where they meet the axles/diff).
Do I oil or grease that? And with what?

Thanks for any advice!

Last edited by Crawl_Tide; 12-28-2017 at 07:35 PM.
Crawl_Tide is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 12-28-2017, 08:33 PM   #2
RCC Addict

Default Re: New Vaterra Ascender: Issues? Pls Help a Noob

Yes, you are able to adjust your steering via your radio, just be careful to limit your end point correctly. you can also reduce your squeaking noise by applying mountain bike dry chain lube.
Teng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2017, 11:29 PM   #3
Quarry Creeper

Default Re: New Vaterra Ascender: Issues? Pls Help a Noob

Welcome.

On to the radio, make sure the knob in the front of the radio is fully turned clockwise. make sure the steering trim is centered and retest the steering L & R thow with the truck upside down so you can see how far it's steering. If you are still having trouble getting max steering to left and right you will need to reset your "steering end points"
End point adjustment is vaguely touched on in the radio manual.
DX2E - RTR - Manual (spm2330)
DX2E v.3 (spm2322)