Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Vaterra Scale Rock Crawlers > Vaterra Ascender

Notices

Thread: Dovenosing/ body work with lexan

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-20-2018, 07:16 PM   #1

Exclamation Dovenosing/ body work with lexan

I recently bought the Ascender F100 and immediately put in a promodeler 470 servo, a great recommendation by a friend who has been driving rc's off all sorts for over 10 years. What I didn't think much about when buying it is that the Ford's have the shortest WB and the servo is actually mounted sideways compared to the K5 my friend let me test drive. I spent a bunch of time watching YouTube and reading forums to where I finally had the confidence to make a servo winch. (I more than blew through my budget with the upgraded servo, transmitter, receiver and my oversized BEC.
I am a newbie to hobby RC trucks and not affaid to admit it. Everythong ibe learned has been in the last 2 months. So I still have alot to learn.
Right now the plan is to stretch the WB about 1/4 inch so I can turn the servo 90° to be in the same position as the Chevy Ascender. Doing this will give me the perfect place to mount my servo winch. My friend has agreed to help me with this because I would never tackle this with my limited experience alone.
The idea was tossed around to move the body slightly forward to keep the front inline and Dovenose the front end giving a better angle of approach. Either way I really want to dovenose the truck. My wife overheard me talking about this, and suggested just buying a cheap winch to mount to the bumper, I really don't want to use a cheap winch that I know I'm going to fry when I built a strong servo winch that is capable of dead lifting the truck.
Does anyone have experience dovenosing trucks or cutting lexan and re-attaching it to itself? I feel like it's a lot of work but also a very functional modification. Any information on this is more than I have now, thank you.