Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Vaterra Scale Rock Crawlers > Vaterra Ascender
Loading

Notices

Thread: Project TAZ C0/1/2 capable rig

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-30-2018, 08:58 PM   #21
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Detroit
Posts: 2,075
Default Re: Project TAZ C0/1/2 capable rig

Quote:
Originally Posted by CODYBOY View Post
Sorry if I missed it, what size gears are you running with that spacing. And for the slide on link mounts, I do I go about getting them printed?

Ernie
Ill get the stl file to you asap. The stl file can be used for any printer.

Im using 48p gears.

Sent from my LGMP260 using Tapatalk
CM9000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 05-31-2018, 08:05 PM   #22
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Detroit
Posts: 2,075
Default Re: Project TAZ C0/1/2 capable rig

Left or right? What bumper to stop the.. Uh potential rear end damage...


Sent from my LGMP260 using Tapatalk
CM9000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2018, 09:09 PM   #23
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Corruptifornia
Posts: 12,068
Default Re: Project TAZ C0/1/2 capable rig

Right.
Natedog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2018, 11:46 AM   #24
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Detroit
Posts: 2,075
Default Re: Project TAZ C0/1/2 capable rig

First t case proto with gears inside.

Couple things.. I forgot how tight of a tolerance shapeways is capable of. bearings are a tight fit. should be no shaft play side to side at all. unless a bearing fails.

And i forgot how strong it was. Few modifications to shave material off the outside of the cases. And i think the middle t case might get a few tabs attatched to it.

I might eliminate the gru from great planes completely.


Last edited by CM9000; 06-02-2018 at 01:46 PM.
CM9000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2018, 06:02 PM   #25
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Corruptifornia
Posts: 12,068
Default Re: Project TAZ C0/1/2 capable rig

The tcase looks great!
Natedog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2018, 06:06 PM   #26
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Detroit
Posts: 2,075
Default Re: Project TAZ C0/1/2 capable rig

Quote:
Originally Posted by Natedog View Post
The tcase looks great!
just a prototype. the next 3 you will see within the next few weeks are slimmed down. i need to get them printed so i can start making shafts. ive thought about ditching the cases entirely and just using plates. but the amount of work.. and for how cheap.. cant beat the 3d printed case.
CM9000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2018, 10:20 AM   #27
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Detroit
Posts: 2,075
Default Re: Project TAZ C0/1/2 capable rig

New t cases on the bottom. Old example on top. Need to make 7 30mm long 5mm shafts. For brackets ill be using just some angle aluminum. After shaving some material off in tinker cad im able to now put a 3rd t case under the bed if i need to.

Going to be getting a 3 brothers rc 1900kv 6pole sensored motor to try out in this rig too.

Sent from my LGMP260 using Tapatalk
CM9000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2018, 10:48 AM   #28
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Southern Maine
Posts: 1,022
Default Re: Project TAZ C0/1/2 capable rig

Awesome work with the 3D printing. Iím stuck in the Stone Age rubbing two sticks together making my transmission and transfer cases out of solid blocks of aluminum and a drill press lol. But doing the same thing you are basically. Wish I knew how to do drafting and run a computer. Keep up the good work!

Ben
Itali83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2018, 10:52 AM   #29
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Detroit
Posts: 2,075
Default Re: Project TAZ C0/1/2 capable rig

Quote:
Originally Posted by Itali83 View Post
Awesome work with the 3D printing. Iím stuck in the Stone Age rubbing two sticks together making my transmission and transfer cases out of solid blocks of aluminum and a drill press lol. But doing the same thing you are basically. Wish I knew how to do drafting and run a computer. Keep up the good work!

Ben
Give tinker cad a try. Its what i use.

Sent from my LGMP260 using Tapatalk
CM9000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2018, 11:33 AM   #30
Moderator
 
JatoTheRipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 13,511
Default Re: Project TAZ C0/1/2 capable rig

Looking good!
JatoTheRipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2018, 10:59 PM   #31
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Detroit
Posts: 2,075
Default Re: Project TAZ C0/1/2 capable rig

This is kinda how i want to lay the t cases out in the rig... Well i hate it. Because now i lose my front upper link tuning option.

This SUCKS! But wait... Do i really need a upper link with all these trackbar with panhard front end builds???... Looks like i need to redesign my front lower link mounts.

Or i could just leaf it..




Sent from my LGMP260 using Tapatalk
CM9000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2018, 11:43 PM   #32
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Santa Maria, CA
Posts: 1,751
Default Re: Project TAZ C0/1/2 capable rig

Just throw a radius arm on one side (I've always put the radius arm on the side closest to the diff which helps keep the u-joint pointed at the t-case better than when mounted on the opposite side) and a straight link on the other side. Sure you'll lose tune-ability vs 3 or 4 link, but if you start out with a bit more castor than ideal, and keep the arm/link as long and flat as possible, you probably won't miss it. It will still articulate smoothly (unlike radius arms on both sides) and you'll still maintain consistent suspension cycling and axle location/wrap control (unlike leaf springs.) Obviously you'll still need the trac bar, but it sure is easier to package when you've only got 2 mounting points at the skid.
TheLetterJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2018, 08:50 AM   #33
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Detroit
Posts: 2,075
Default Re: Project TAZ C0/1/2 capable rig

Im going to try my best to avoid the radius arm method or going leafed. Im going to try and move the front upper link around.

I need to the the motor and t case mounted first though.

Sent from my LGMP260 using Tapatalk
CM9000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2018, 08:58 AM   #34
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Detroit
Posts: 2,075
Default Re: Project TAZ C0/1/2 capable rig

Just gonna leave this here...

Sent from my LGMP260 using Tapatalk
CM9000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2018, 09:01 AM   #35
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Merrill, WI
Posts: 2,328
Default Re: Project TAZ C0/1/2 capable rig

Oh my. Now that is interesting.

It took me a little bit to figure out the idea but I see it. So cool. Reminds me of an old machine or truck with all the mechanical goodness without wires everywhere

Sent from my ZTE A2017U using Tapatalk

Last edited by mgputer; 08-01-2018 at 09:04 AM.
mgputer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2018, 09:05 AM   #36
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Detroit
Posts: 2,075
Default Re: Project TAZ C0/1/2 capable rig

Ive got some key stock to cut and tap for the rear most case to brace. Gotta tear down the axles next week for tlr 22 series shafts to go on the pinion gears.

Sent from my LGMP260 using Tapatalk
CM9000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2018, 09:30 AM   #37
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Southern Maine
Posts: 1,022
Default Re: Project TAZ C0/1/2 capable rig

Very nice. What are you using for your case material and how are you drilling the shaft holes to get good gear mesh? Are they 3D printed or using a drill press? Thanks.

Ben
Itali83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2018, 09:39 AM   #38
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Detroit
Posts: 2,075
Default Re: Project TAZ C0/1/2 capable rig

3d printed cases. Took very precise measurements.

Sent from my LGMP260 using Tapatalk
CM9000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2018, 09:55 AM   #39
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Southern Maine
Posts: 1,022
Default Re: Project TAZ C0/1/2 capable rig

Quote:
Originally Posted by CM9000 View Post
3d printed cases. Took very precise measurements.

Sent from my LGMP260 using Tapatalk
Ok thatís what I figured. Still have cases to make for mine but going with very precise eyeball measurements and Bridgeport.

Ben
Itali83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2018, 10:01 AM   #40
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Detroit
Posts: 2,075
Default Re: Project TAZ C0/1/2 capable rig

Quote:
Originally Posted by Itali83 View Post
Ok thatís what I figured. Still have cases to make for mine but going with very precise eyeball measurements and Bridgeport.

Ben
Line the gears up on a flat granit surface. Then find center to center after you squeeze them together with a reciept inbetween them.

My firat prints from shapeways fit really well. They only took me about 10 minutes to design each case.

Sent from my LGMP260 using Tapatalk
CM9000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
1.55, 1.9, axle, narrowed, yota



Project TAZ C0/1/2 capable rig - Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
is the CR01 a capable rig? Neil2704 Newbie General 7 01-13-2018 03:15 PM
Advice Wanted, Capable Tow Rig kstowe General Scale Talk 17 05-28-2015 10:13 AM
Is my rig capable to compete in a g6 simpscx10 Axial SCX-10 10 07-30-2014 11:25 AM
Losi MRC capable rig? fishh8me Losi Mini-Rock Crawler 4 04-16-2009 10:31 PM
This is the most un capable rig I ever saw. broncoholic Maryland 9 12-09-2008 08:17 AM
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com