Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Vaterra Scale Rock Crawlers > Vaterra Ascender

Notices

Thread: First Crawler Build - Recommendations Appreciated.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-27-2018, 11:17 AM   #1
Quarry Creeper

Default First Crawler Build!

I am new to RC crawlers, and just bought my son and I each our own ECX Barrage Gen2 1/12 scale crawlers to get our feet wet a few weeks back. I really love it and so does my son and it is fun to have something like this to do as a family. My wife is interested as well so I decided to order an Ascender for myself and give her my Barrage. So last night I ordered what amounts to an Ascender Builders kit. It is an unassembled K5 Kit that had the body, wheels, and tires removed. I got it for a good price and this will work as I wanted to use my own hand picked components to finish the build.

I will be using this more for technical crawling and less trail running, so speed is less of a concern. I have lots of land and can build whatever I like for obstacle courses and use sections I have setup for training on motorcycle trials, which is what my real passion is competing all over the state and country.

I had a few questions about ordering the rest of the parts I will need to complete the build. I will be using a HobbyWing WP1080 ESC and probably getting the Flysky GT3C. However I am wondering what motor I should use. I was looking at getting a 35T 540 or 550, but see some people run other setups. I would like to be able have plenty of power, but not too much that will break things. I would also like to maximize run times if possible. Recommendations appreciated on motors.

Also I think I am going to pair this the Gmade Komodo body as it come with a lot of cool scale parts. This brings me to tires and wheels.