Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Vaterra Scale Rock Crawlers > Vaterra Ascender

Notices

Thread: Stomp's Vaterra Ascender Build!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-01-2018, 10:40 PM   #1
Quarry Creeper

Default Stomp's Vaterra Ascender Build!

Stomp's Vaterra Ascender Build

This is my first time building an RC Crawler and seeing as I am really excited about it, I wanted to start a thread to share my journey. I built a few RC nitro cars back in the early 90's when I was a young whipper snapper, hehe, but this is a different beast then I am used to.

For some time I have wanted to build an RC Rock Crawler kit, and finally decided on the Vaterra Ascender, however the kits have been discontinued for some time. With a bit of searching I was able to find a K5 Blazer Kit that is new in the package, but the body, wheels, and tires were removed. This works for me as I wanted a different body and wheels anyways, and because of the missing parts, I got a pretty good deal on it.

-I will be using a HobbyWing WP1080 ESC with program card.

-I will probably be getting the Flysky GT3C radio to use with this truck.

-I think I will go with a Yeah Racing Hackmoto 35T 540 motor to start.

-I am still undecided as to whether or not to use a 2S or a 3S battery with it.

-I ordered a set of aluminum beadlock wheels with a set of super swamper tires.

-I am thinking of maybe a Gmade Komodo body as I like all the scale items included like the door handles, mirrors, bumper, grills, roof rack, etc.

Tonight I built group A and B. It tool longer then anticipated not because of building, but because of documenting. However that was part of the fun for me.

On to the build. Group A went together quite easily. A-8 is not shown because I do not have my motor yet, and A-10 is not shown because it is just putting in 4 set screws on the drive shafts to mount them to the trans.

Here is the whole kit in bags A-G