Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Vaterra Scale Rock Crawlers > Vaterra Ascender

Notices

Thread: No New Vaterra Products

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-17-2020, 01:15 PM   #1
Rock Crawler

Post No New Vaterra Products

For those not on Facebook and those who have not found the information through other existing sources or threads, here is the news from Rich Trujillo:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich RC Trujillo
Hi All, i'd like to address the Ascender status. For those that don't know me, i'm a Senior Product Developer for Horizon Hobby. From the start of Vaterra, I worked on all the Ascenders, Touring cars and Twin hammers. So to say the least Vaterra has been close to me..

That being said, I wanted to clarify that there will not be a new version of the Ascender and no, the Axial SCX10 III was not going to be the Ascender 2.0. The SCX10 III was a ground up design from Matt Kearney (a long time designer at Axlal). Being that I worked on the SCX10 III and Capra projects, we were able to incorporate the patented sliding chassis rails for the SCX10 III now that Axial is a brand of Horizon. Vaterra is NOT going out of business as Vaterra is a brand of Horizon (like Mountain Dew is a brand of Pepsico).

The current Vaterra line of vehicles will continue to be made and supported with spares etc as long as their is enough demand to meet production. They are not going away anytime soon.

I want to thank everyone that has supported the Ascender and continues to do so. I appreciate the loyalty to this rig. We were always the underdog but I always felt we had a killer chassis with fit and finish, its just been tough to overcome the "torque twist" comments that continues to haunt me to this day LOL. I learned a lot from this rig.