Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Vaterra Twin Hammers
Loading

Notices


Like Tree11Likes

Thread: Twin Hammers Set up Tips

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-06-2013, 10:28 PM   #1
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Victorville
Posts: 123
Default Twin Hammers Set up Tips

Had some question about Reversing the shift button, so here is a real quick set uo vid.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i351Aap1gUI

Rock Concepts is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 02-07-2013, 01:11 AM   #2
RCC Addict
 
EGRESSor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Germany north
Posts: 1,632
Default Re: Twin Hammers Set up Tips

a short how to change the esc mode would be nice

and whats the default setting ? fwd/rev or the crawler mode?
EGRESSor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 01:49 AM   #3
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 353
Default Re: Twin Hammers Set up Tips

According to the manual on Vaterra's site, it's defaults are forward/smart brake/reverse and lipo cut off on.
Badmuthatrucker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 02:04 AM   #4
RCC Addict
 
EGRESSor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Germany north
Posts: 1,632
Default Re: Twin Hammers Set up Tips

i found it in the online manual

looks like the esc mode change is missed in the manual that comes with the car
EGRESSor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 10:32 AM   #5
Horizon Hobby Rep
 
Rich Trujillo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Corona
Posts: 502
Default Re: Twin Hammers Set up Tips

Quote:
Originally Posted by EGRESSor View Post
i found it in the online manual

looks like the esc mode change is missed in the manual that comes with the car
Good catch, it looks like the section was left out.
Here is a link to the full manual for the Tazer 12T ESC.

Dynamite LiPo Tazer 12T Waterproof Fwd/Rev ESC (DYN4927WP)

We'll work on getting that info squeezed in to the manual on future production.
EGRESSor and gabehunt like this.
Rich Trujillo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 10:56 AM   #6
Rock Stacker
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: hlkl
Posts: 75
Default Re: Twin Hammers Set up Tips

thanks
SubyJeff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 12:58 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Cleveland
Posts: 39
Default Re: Twin Hammers Set up Tips

I'm kinda surprised it's better for the tranny to be shifted while in motion rather than stopped. Good to hear.
Lets Crawl likes this.
benny_wiskas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 12:59 AM   #8
RCC Addict
 
EGRESSor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Germany north
Posts: 1,632
Default Re: Twin Hammers Set up Tips

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Trujillo View Post
Good catch, it looks like the section was left out.
Here is a link to the full manual for the Tazer 12T ESC.

Dynamite LiPo Tazer 12T Waterproof Fwd/Rev ESC (DYN4927WP)

We'll work on getting that info squeezed in to the manual on future production.
you may add a note that the user should check/adjust the steering and third channel endpoints before using
i know some guys that killed their shift servos at the first run

btw. itīs a great rig
EGRESSor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 12:57 PM   #9
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Brighton UK
Posts: 942
Default Re: Twin Hammers Set up Tips

Yep my gear shift servo is caput after 2 mins run time! Only had the thing in my possession an hour!
northernerbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 02:12 PM   #10
Rock Stacker
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 81
Default Re: Twin Hammers Set up Tips

Yep, Bungfruit and DRZjohn just burned theirs.
Syncrog60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 02:42 PM   #11
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Posts: 209
Default Re: Twin Hammers Set up Tips

truck has been in testing for a year or so and they never saw shift servo failure? thanks for the heads up on this. will try to be careful.
BKcrawler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 03:07 PM   #12
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: San Clemente, CA.
Posts: 532
Default Re: Twin Hammers Set up Tips

Yup I just got my replacement on my Twin Hammer and the endpoints need adjustment before i have another wasted shift servo.
rocresq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 04:04 PM   #13
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 353
Default Re: Twin Hammers Set up Tips

Quote:
Originally Posted by BKcrawler View Post
truck has been in testing for a year or so and they never saw shift servo failure? thanks for the heads up on this. will try to be careful.
More than likely the pre-production models were assembled by the design team or something, where the production run would be built just by factory workers like any RTR.

This is why I despise RTR, but working in a hobbyshop shows you that 90% + of people these days are either dumb or lazy so I accept we need RTR's for the hobby to survive.
Badmuthatrucker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 04:37 PM   #14
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Posts: 209
Default Re: Twin Hammers Set up Tips

Quote:
Originally Posted by Badmuthatrucker View Post
More than likely the pre-production models were assembled by the design team or something, where the production run would be built just by factory workers like any RTR.

This is why I despise RTR, but working in a hobbyshop shows you that 90% + of people these days are either dumb or lazy so I accept we need RTR's for the hobby to survive.
yeah that's true. Maybe Vaterra should have given a few kits to new people to the hobby and and see what they broke or had trouble with and then troubleshoot it then. I'm sure some kids and or experienced users will have similar issues with the shift servo. Not the end of the world tho... Dealing with a Multi speed trans would be unusual for most i guess.
BKcrawler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 04:42 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: New Haven
Posts: 5
Default Re: Twin Hammers Set up Tips

Quote:
Originally Posted by BKcrawler View Post
truck has been in testing for a year or so and they never saw shift servo failure? thanks for the heads up on this. will try to be careful.
We'll be well off if this is the only issue on a first production run model.
ScottMac737 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 06:29 PM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: ventura county
Posts: 11
Default Re: Twin Hammers Set up Tips

I bought 2 the other day for me and my son and the shift servo in both burned out in 5 min of owning it..Big Failure there's so many people that have these and can not even drive them. Vaterra needs to step up and replace everybody's with a better one..and it is a odd size servo. I went to go buy one and nobody had that size..
ibeamranger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 11:30 PM   #17
Rock Crawler
 
Knytemare's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Fort Wayne
Posts: 673
Default Re: Twin Hammers Set up Tips

I kind of wish they had put a spring on the shift servo (like what the E-Maxx had for its shift servo) so that in the event of the EPA's not being set up exactly as needed, that would lessen the likelihood of burning out the servo. When dealing with RTR's you often find people who are either too lazy or just plain too stupid to check things like. I've been working on RC cars for quite a few years and have set up 3 speed transmissions and dig units for awhile now, but being marketed for newcomers; they won't possess that knowledge.
Knytemare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 01:07 PM   #18
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: land of make believe
Posts: 348
Default Re: Twin Hammers Set up Tips

Well i have put a battery pack through mine and the shift servo is still working so thats a plus. I did have an interesting problem, though. The plug for my lipo was very poorly soldered and came off in my hand as i took it out of the packaging. For me it wasnt a big deal(actually helpful) as i was switching to deans anyway, but something to look out for if you plan on keeping the stock electronics.
elbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 01:07 AM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: highland
Posts: 30
Default Re: Twin Hammers Set up Tips

I'm confuse if the car comes with a Lipo then why is the preset mode set to nimh? Pls any one respond
illthreat likes this.
eddiekfx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 04:13 PM   #20
Quarry Creeper
 
Rockridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: B-E-A-utiful Vancouver Island
Posts: 409
Default

I just noticed that my manual says the esc is factory set for Ni-MH.... The online manual says lipo.... What the heck
illthreat likes this.
Rockridge is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Twin Hammers Set up Tips - Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vaterra Twin Hammers Picture Archive Rock Concepts Vaterra Twin Hammers 222 08-19-2014 01:17 PM
Video of Twin Hammers Rock Concepts Vaterra Twin Hammers 78 04-09-2013 06:55 AM
Twin Hammers Shipping! Rock Concepts Vaterra Twin Hammers 32 02-08-2013 06:13 PM
Twin Hammers Rock Concepts Videos! 4 01-31-2013 02:50 PM
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com