Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Vendors > Vendors Market > Vendors Electronics
Loading

Notices

Thread: Remote Switch For LED Lighting

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-04-2011, 05:07 PM   #1
Custom RC Electronics
 
heyok's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,257
Smile Remote Switch For LED Lighting

This little thing will let you turn your rig's lighting on and off from a channel on your remote control.

If your lighting gets its power by plugging into your receiver, just plug this Remote Switch into the receiver first, then plug your lighting into it. Then you can flip your lights on and off from your transmitter!

** EDIT
The next picture shows how the controller is packed these days. I've made it smaller and lighter so you it will take up less room on your rig.




This image shows how the controller used to be packaged (shrouded pins on the output). I can still build them this way if that is what you prefer, but it is $2 more. You can also order it with pig tale leads (just a couple of inches or wire instead of output pins) for no extra charge. Please let me know at time of ordering.



Part No. RCSW1 $19 plus shipping.
Or $21 plus shipping with the shrouded pins.


Thanks for looking!
Al

Last edited by heyok; 07-22-2017 at 08:03 AM. Reason: Photobucket support over, switching to imgur
heyok is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 01-04-2011, 06:24 PM   #2
Rock Stacker
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: el paso
Posts: 53
Default

I am interested, more info, how to used in the 3 channel to turn on and off the light
Dfrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 09:06 PM   #3
Custom RC Electronics
 
heyok's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,257
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dfrog View Post
I am interested, more info, how to used in the 3 channel to turn on and off the light
You would plug my circuit into CH3 of your receiver. Plug your lights into my circuit.

Go to your transmitter and use your Channel 3 switch. If it is a two position channel, flip the switch to turn the lights on and off. If it is a three position third channel, the two outer positions will give you on / off. If you have a linear third channel, move the control from one end to the other. You will notice the output switching somewhere near the center of the control's motion.

I will post a picture of it in circuit soon so you can see exactly how to hook it up.
heyok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 10:00 PM   #4
Rock Stacker
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: el paso
Posts: 53
Default

Dfrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2011, 11:00 AM   #5
Custom RC Electronics
 
heyok's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,257
Default

To give you a better idea of how the Remote Switch For LED Lighting works, I plugged it into my servo tester and took a couple of pictures.

The funny box with the knobs is my servo tester. You can kind of split it down the middle. The knob on the left controls servos (up to four) that are plugged in down below it. The knob on the right controls servos (up to four) that are plugged in down below it.

In my little demo, I'm just using the knob on the left. I've plugged in a servo into this channel and I've plugged in a Remote Switch For LEDs. Plugged into it is a set of four LEDs are plugged that it will control. The servo is plugged in so that you get a better idea of what the channel is doing when the lights go on and off.



This first picture shows the knob all the way to the right and you will see that the servo has rotated to the right and the lights are off.





This second picture shows the knob all the way to the left and the servo has rotated to the left. Now the lights are on.





The circuit uses a MOSFET transistor to do the switching. It is rated at more than 10 Amps. There is no heat sinking action in my circuit, so you can't expect to pull that much current from it, but I suspect that it is good for at least a few amps. To give you an idea, most LEDs draw about 20mA (that's 0.02 Amps). That would be fifty LEDs to draw just one amp, so you could have a really bright lighting system switched with this!

Last edited by heyok; 01-28-2012 at 08:09 AM.
heyok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2011, 01:12 AM   #6
Rock Stacker
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Kingsport, TN
Posts: 76
Default

Thanks again for the fast shipping on a great product. Works just like advertised and is a fun addition to my Honcho.

Honcho remote lighting
1SLOWSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2011, 11:16 AM   #7
Custom RC Electronics
 
heyok's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,257
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1SLOWSS View Post
Thanks again for the fast shipping on a great product. Works just like advertised and is a fun addition to my Honcho.

Honcho remote lighting
Thanks for posting up the cool video of it in action Kris!

Glad you like it!
heyok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 12:34 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Fullerton
Posts: 2
Default

I want one. How will this work with a Tamiya TLU01 since it is plugged directly to the battery?
Gibzki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 01:17 PM   #9
Custom RC Electronics
 
heyok's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,257
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gibzki View Post
I want one. How will this work with a Tamiya TLU01 since it is plugged directly to the battery?
I'm not sure it would work. My circuit provides only receiver voltage at its output.

If you are feeling brave, see if it will run on 6 volts. If it does, you can use the "Remote Switch For LED Lighting" or do the following...

I have another circuit that activates a relay. It plugs in the same way to your receiver, but it has a pair of screw terminals on the circuit. You could use it to switch one of the thin wires that connects from the male/female tamiya plugs to the Tamiya box.

You can have that for $20 plus shipping if you are interested.


Picture borrowed from Tamiya's site

Cut the thin red wire that goes to the plug in the upper left corner and put the two ends to the relay.
heyok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2011, 01:13 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Fullerton
Posts: 2
Default

Okay I am interested in this. If the TLU01 doesn't work, I'll just get new leds that plugs into the receiver.

How do I pay? How much shipped to 92832?

Thanks.
Gibzki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2011, 03:59 PM   #11
Custom RC Electronics
 
heyok's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,257
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gibzki View Post
Okay I am interested in this. If the TLU01 doesn't work, I'll just get new leds that plugs into the receiver.

How do I pay? How much shipped to 92832?

Thanks.
Sending you a PM
heyok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2011, 05:50 PM   #12
GOT SCALE ?
 
Stormin2u's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Taylors Falls just hanging with the MNRCRC crew.
Posts: 7,755
Default

Nice products heyok gets the mind working.
Stormin2u is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 09:26 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Rwood
Posts: 1
Default

I'm interested how do I pay
Big M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2011, 04:14 PM   #14
Custom RC Electronics
 
heyok's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,257
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Big M View Post
I'm interested how do I pay
Hi, Sorry I missed your post. I will send you a PM and tell you how to send me Paypal.
heyok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2011, 11:29 PM   #15
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 4,419
Default

Good product, nice to have an alternative to the Pico switches. Any idea on shipping costs to the U.S. ( 21234) ?
BigSki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2011, 08:05 AM   #16
Custom RC Electronics
 
heyok's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,257
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigSki View Post
Good product, nice to have an alternative to the Pico switches. Any idea on shipping costs to the U.S. ( 21234) ?
Thank you.

Shipping to the USA is $7
heyok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 09:42 AM   #17
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: under a rock and a hard place
Posts: 5,360
Default

Using this switch to turn my wipers on and off,works perfectly for that also.Thanks Al
hotwheels000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2011, 08:41 AM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: north GTA
Posts: 48
Default

works perfectly!

great workmanship too!
shanks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2011, 02:38 PM   #19
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: San Antonio TX
Posts: 169
Default

Do you still have these??
CHOPPERMECH11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2011, 08:51 PM   #20
Custom RC Electronics
 
heyok's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,257
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CHOPPERMECH11 View Post
Do you still have these??
I sure do! Send me a PM if you would like to place an order and I will make arrangements to send you a Paypal Invoice.

Thanks,
Al
heyok is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
led, lighting, remote, switch



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com