Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Vendors > Vendors Market > Vendors Electronics
Loading

Notices

Thread: No Brainer BEC

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-05-2011, 03:54 PM   #1
Custom RC Electronics
 
heyok's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,234
Thumbs up No Brainer BEC

If you have crawled for a while and noticed your steering is weaker than you think it should be, it might be due to the often weak BEC that is included in most electronic speed controls.

One fix for that is to run an external BEC. Sometimes you don't have the time or equipment needed to solder in an external BEC, so I am offering an external BEC that is really easy to install.

It is small and quite efficient as it uses a switch mode voltage regulator to step down the voltage.

** Note ** This is the No Brainer BEC in its current version. This one has the optional adjustable output for $30




The No Brainer 5Amp BEC:


To use it, the BEC gets plugged in between your receiver and steering servo. The battery connector gets plugged in between your battery and ESC. That's it!

Now the BEC that is built into the ESC only powers the receiver and the steering servo will get its power from the external BEC.

No need to remove the red wire from your ESC's receiver plug. The No Brainer BEC is a plug and play solution to adding an external BEC to power your steering servo. It comes preset to 6 (six) volts but I can set it to a different voltage if you ask me!

Your steering servo can work harder and your ESC can relax a little as it doesn't have to put up with the high current load from steering.

Did I mention that it doesn't cost a lot?

Part Number: NBRADJ
$30 plus shipping.

Now you can get a Dual Channel version of the No Brainer BEC!



Part Number: NBR2ADJ
$40 plus shipping.


NOTE: RC Truck Stop has a review of the No Brainer BEC.

You can check it out here.

Last edited by heyok; 07-22-2017 at 08:01 AM. Reason: Photobucket support over, switching to imgur
heyok is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 01-05-2011, 04:53 PM   #2
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 16,953
Default

Very nice! What voltage does it output? Can it be reprogrammed easily by the user?
JeremyH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2011, 04:56 PM   #3
Custom RC Electronics
 
heyok's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,234
Default

It outputs 5.5 volts. Sorry, it isn't user programmable. Its voltage can be changed by messing with resistor values.
heyok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2011, 09:09 PM   #4
Official Cook of the ECC
 
Scattman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Hawthorne, Florida
Posts: 2,653
Default

I think you need to up the voltage. 6 volts should be the minimum IMO.
Scattman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2011, 09:15 PM   #5
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: crawlifornia
Posts: 1,574
Default

its a good idea but, it's pretty hard to compete with the proven CCBEC with it's programmability and around the same price.

good luck though
rockhugger is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2011, 08:26 AM   #6
Custom RC Electronics
 
heyok's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,234
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rockhugger View Post
its a good idea but, it's pretty hard to compete with the proven CCBEC with it's programmability and around the same price.

good luck though
The price is around the same as the CCBEC because that is what it takes to make something you can just grab and plug in.

To me, a guy running a comp crawler wouldn't want this. The No Brainer is more for the person that doesn't want to solder, but needs a quick solution to a rig that needs a BEC.


As soon as I get some time I will see about making a higher voltage version.

I've heard a vote for 6 volts. What other voltages would you guys like to see?
heyok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2011, 01:52 PM   #7
On the lookout for Rocks
 
constantmotion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Monroe, Louisiana
Posts: 3,711
Default

6V is pretty much the standard, since most full size servos max out at 6V.
constantmotion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2011, 10:56 PM   #8
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: under a rock and a hard place
Posts: 5,358
Default

7.5 volts is a nice round number for using it with/for a winch
hotwheels000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2011, 11:33 PM   #9
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
 
dezfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Happiness is a warm AK.
Posts: 12,335
Default

6V sounds good to me.
dezfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2011, 09:57 AM   #10
Custom RC Electronics
 
heyok's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,234
Default

If 6 volts is what you want, I can do it! Same price. I will also consider other voltages if you request it at time of order.

Would anyone be interested in an adjustable version?
heyok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2011, 10:14 AM   #11
Official Cook of the ECC
 
Scattman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Hawthorne, Florida
Posts: 2,653
Default

I do like that it is plug and play. How would you adjust it?
Scattman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2011, 10:25 AM   #12
Custom RC Electronics
 
heyok's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,234
Default

I can mount a potentiometer on there. Either a single or multi turn one. I kind of like having the whole thing covered up by heat shrink, but it should be possible to have a small hole in it for access to the control. You could cover that up with tape after or maybe a little silicone.
heyok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2011, 10:45 PM   #13
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: florida
Posts: 138
Default

I would deffinately go with at least 6 volts.
out4crawlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 01:56 PM   #14
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Dortmund, Germany
Posts: 876
Default

Hello,

great product

7.4V would be just fine for the Hitec and other high torque servos which are
very often used in comp. crawlers.

Greetings Frank
Dr.Frank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 02:00 PM   #15
Custom RC Electronics
 
heyok's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,234
Default

Thanks for the input!

Again, I want to point out that in a comp crawler, you would probably want to solder in your BEC and not use my plug and play version. This is more for the guy that wants a quick fix to get their rig going again. That being said, I've been in a comp and had my CCBEC fail. I was just able to quickly plug in a No Brainer and was going again in just a minute!
heyok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 05:11 PM   #16
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: roland,ar
Posts: 5,969
Default

yes,i would say 6v min.


could you do one for a dual steering setup?
say for a multi axle steup(6x6-8x..
ROLANDROCKSHOP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 05:17 PM   #17
Custom RC Electronics
 
heyok's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,234
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rubiredunlmtd View Post
yes,i would say 6v min.


could you do one for a dual steering setup?
say for a multi axle steup(6x6-8x..
I'm really not sure about what you are asking. Do you mean that there are two steering servos and you want them both to run from the BEC?
heyok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 05:23 PM   #18
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: roland,ar
Posts: 5,969
Default

i have 2 servos on my 8x8 running into a y harness at the moment..
and one sucks the power off the other one during a turn,and stalls the rec out..

what would be the best way to fix the problem?
2- becs?
ROLANDROCKSHOP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 05:32 PM   #19
Custom RC Electronics
 
heyok's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,234
Default

You could run a No Brainer into that Y cable and it should be able to feed the two servos without any trouble. The wiring harness on the No Brainer doesn't feed power to the receiver but that's okay because the ESC's built in BEC should be able to handle that.
heyok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 05:37 PM   #20
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: roland,ar
Posts: 5,969
Default

cool!!
thank ya for your input!
its much appreciated!

ill be getting one from ya then.
ROLANDROCKSHOP is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com