Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Heritage Crawlers > Venom Creeper

Notices

Thread: New Creeper build issues - Not very good QC at Venom...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-18-2010, 12:31 PM   #1

Default New Creeper build issues - Not very good QC at Venom...

Well I am new to the "crawler" scene, being that when I built my last crawler there was no such catagory. But now with all the hype and a 2yr old son that loves "monster" trucks and my true life Crawler buggy (Jeep buggy), it was obvious to me that I needed to get something he could enjoy in the house. With the slow speed of a Crawler kit of today, I went looking. My main concern, cost and longivity.

The Creeper seemed like a decent product, with the out of box ability, and replacement parts. I did read of some issues, but with the majority of them being passed off as issues that have been resolved.

Got the kit and opened the box to start assembly. Nice that bags were clearly labled. Given they dont know the difference between a button head Cap screw and a Flat head cap screw. But what ever...

Everything was going ok till I found that the screw bags were short on occation, some of the needed/required hardware. I read about this but with this being a direct Newer kit, I was told that was a issue from the older kits. Nope, still an issue...

So after moving on some steps and hoping to only have to go to the hardware source once, and see how many other screws were missing, I counted up I think 7 missing screws of 3 types.

Got those and went back to work. Then found that there were more missing then that and went again to the store to get more missing hardware.