RCCrawler Forums

RCCrawler Forums (http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/)
-   Venom Creeper (http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/venom-creeper/)
-   -   What is a "dig" unit? (http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/venom-creeper/365127-what-dig-unit.html)

edelsite 02-08-2012 08:13 PM

What is a "dig" unit?

I'm new to the world of crawlers and I'm doing some research to determine which model I'm going to go with. Pretty much got it down to the Venom Safari, Losi Night Crawler, or the AX10 Scorpion. My coworker has a venom kit he's working on and it looks like a nicely built unit. Like the title says...what is the factory "dig" unit that's installed on the RTR Safari crawler?

viper6171 02-08-2012 08:21 PM

Re: What is a "dig" unit?

a dig unit allows you to disengage or lock the rear driveshaft which enables you to turn in a really tight radius . also can come in handy when going down a steep incline or going up a steep vertical climb

SCrawler 02-09-2012 03:56 AM

I took my dig and moved it to the front (to control front axle), to make a functioning 2wd/4wd shift. It just seems to be more scale to me that way, but I did run it on the rear, and it can do wonders when you need to make tight turns!!

isetiawan 02-11-2012 04:27 AM

Dig Unit almost the same as hand brake in real car.. But not for drift in crawler kit..

vassago 02-11-2012 09:13 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by edelsite (Post 3556191)
I'm new to the world of crawlers and I'm doing some research to determine which model I'm going to go with. Pretty much got it down to the Venom Safari, Losi Night Crawler, or the AX10 Scorpion. My coworker has a venom kit he's working on and it looks like a nicely built unit. Like the title says...what is the factory "dig" unit that's installed on the RTR Safari crawler?

For your info, Losi is discontinuing everything remotely related to crawling and Micro-T. Spare parts are close to impossible to find. What available out there is what is left.