Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Regional > Midwest > Wisconsin
Loading

Notices

Thread: Official WiRCRC Chit Chat

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-08-2011, 09:44 PM   #1321
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Fox Valley WI
Posts: 1,691
Default

WiRCRC decals! Although it would be easy to give up your loyalty to good ol' WI for crawling terrain like that. Send us a few plane tickets and we'll come out and crawl wit ya .
TrailDawg362 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 08-10-2011, 04:03 PM   #1322
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: milton,WI.
Posts: 7
Default




could anyone tell me if this is a good lipo charger or not thanks.
wildwhiskey26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 04:17 PM   #1323
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: milton,WI.
Posts: 7
Default

its gonna be charging 2 of these if that helps.

wildwhiskey26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 09:24 PM   #1324
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: milton,WI.
Posts: 7
Default

ok lol scratch both these ideas gonna go with the thunder ac680 charger and 2 2s 40c 5000mah gens ace lipos heard a lot of good reviews on both and for the price why not lol
wildwhiskey26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 11:10 PM   #1325
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Fox Valley WI
Posts: 1,691
Default

5000 mAH packs should give you great run times, but why not go for 3S? Like John Holmes (Holmes Hobbies) says: "Volt up, gear down!"
TrailDawg362 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2011, 01:16 AM   #1326
Rock Stacker
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Brillion
Posts: 95
Default

cant go wrong with gens ace, that's what i run.
Satan6907 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2011, 08:00 AM   #1327
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Appletown
Posts: 130
Default

FREE FOOD

You can get free food up to $15 at Famous Daves on Sunday Aug 14th. The deal is for all Dave's David's & Davey's, Also if you have a dave middle name you can get $7.50 off. Last names do not count.
Stinkyy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2011, 03:07 PM   #1328
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: milton,WI.
Posts: 7
Default

well i went ahead and got 2 5300 3s packs like t dawg suggested now im running the tekkin fxr with a 35t motor i have been reading threw the forum and the guys say i wont need an external bec as long as i dont go below a 35t motor the fxr has a biult in bec 6.0v/3.0a i believe correct me if im wrong so i should be good running without a bec am i right or wrong?
wildwhiskey26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2011, 01:01 PM   #1329
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: appleton
Posts: 2,067
Default

I found that a castle bec 10amp is the only way to go i have them in all my rigs its worth the money in the long run but i run all hi torque servos which draws more power from the battery just get the bec and then your safe.

But then again what do i know oh never mind i figured it out (nothing)
kasper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2011, 05:02 PM   #1330
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: milton,WI.
Posts: 7
Default

i dont care to buy one that aint an issue but as far as knowing if i need one or not thats different considering i have never run lipos before i have a hitec 6955 digital servo as well and the last thing i want is that going up in smoke so thanks for any advice.
wildwhiskey26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2011, 06:32 PM   #1331
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sheboygan
Posts: 326
Default

Running 3s it may be an issue...but you won't burn anything out. The worse thing the happens is the truck will brown out if the power draw is too much for the esc. This is very annoying, and will convince you to buy one. I personally would recommend getting the bec right away.
stolps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2011, 06:45 PM   #1332
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Wrightstown
Posts: 960
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stolps View Post
Running 3s it may be an issue...but you won't burn anything out. The worse thing the happens is the truck will brown out if the power draw is too much for the esc. This is very annoying, and will convince you to buy one. I personally would recommend getting the bec right away.
x2
Super is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2011, 09:01 PM   #1333
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Appletown
Posts: 130
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Super View Post
x2
Quote:
Originally Posted by stolps View Post
Running 3s it may be an issue...but you won't burn anything out. The worse thing the happens is the truck will brown out if the power draw is too much for the esc. This is very annoying, and will convince you to buy one. I personally would recommend getting the bec right away.

A good BEC is the best way to control your truck and your temper...
Stinkyy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2011, 09:03 PM   #1334
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Wrightstown
Posts: 960
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stinkyy View Post
A good BEC is the best way to control your truck and your temper...
Super is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2011, 09:53 PM   #1335
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: milton,WI.
Posts: 7
Default

do i need to get the castle link as well?
wildwhiskey26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2011, 11:54 PM   #1336
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Fox Valley WI
Posts: 1,691
Default

The default voltage setting from the factory is 5.1 volts. The Castle link allows you to tweak the voltage output up or down from 4.8-9 VDC. Some guys run up to 7.2 to the servo, but overheating it might be an issue. You could always install it and tweak it later with a borrowed link, we all have them .
TrailDawg362 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2011, 05:20 AM   #1337
Rock Stacker
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Brillion
Posts: 95
Default

yea well all have castle link, some of us have 4 or more castle links.
Satan6907 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2011, 11:35 AM   #1338
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: milton,WI.
Posts: 7
Default

thanks alot guys really appreciate it, but im probably going to pick the castle link up at the same time i get the bec just so i can have it and save on shipping now my other question, is the field programer the same as the castle link or does the castle link come with it? i have also seen several different ways to wire the bec could anyone lead me in the right direction as far as hooking it up the simplest way? thanks a ton guys yall r really a great bunch of guys.
wildwhiskey26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2011, 11:55 AM   #1339
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Fox Valley WI
Posts: 1,691
Default

I don't know about the field programmer, but the BEC package has a pretty decent wiring diagram. That's the way I did mine. Also, you can tap into the voltage output wires for running lights. Mine is set for 6 volts for lighting with a 100 ohm resistor on each LED .
TrailDawg362 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2011, 06:16 PM   #1340
Rock Stacker
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Wausau
Posts: 82
Default

The field programer can be use for limited esc programing in the field and also a castle link I beleave rob had one
crawlinisfun is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com