Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Competitions and Events > WRCCA > WRCCA Rules
Loading

Notices

Thread: Common Rule Myths and Mistakes

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-14-2011, 10:56 AM   #41
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: on a Big Rock
Posts: 7,837
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mic View Post
Here it goes: Driver gets front wheels all the way though the gate and is attempting to clear the gate with the rear wheels. Rear axle drops in a crack and causes the truck, to twist backwards/sideways and front left wheel now floats backwards over the gate . ( No touch no straddle on the front wheels which have already cleared the gate) driver continues to drive forward ( never a reverse penalty ) and front wheel floats back over the gate ( no touch, no straddle). Driver continues and rear wheels clear the gate.

Judge called progress and 10 point gate penalty. Which I believe was incorrect?

To simplify. Front axle cleared - than floated back ( no touch, no straddle, no reverse) and the rear axle cleared.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Fishmaxx View Post

Any part of a truck CAN flip, fly, hover, float, hover, twist or launch over the gate in any direction!

If the truck ...... 1) doesn't touch the gate, 2) doesn't straddle the gate, or 3) doesn't make progress.....ITS A NOT A PENALTY

If I am understanding your scenario correctly = NO PENALTY.

If understand your scenario correctly you didn't touch the gate, and you didn't straddle it. the ONLY thing that Judge could have CORRECTLY called was you did not get all 4 tires between the gate.

If you got a 4 tires between the gates the call was incorrect...BASED on my understanding of your explanation.
Fishmaxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 03-14-2011, 05:07 PM   #42
Mic
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Arizona
Posts: 578
Default

It was not me driving, just watching another run ( so not personally biased by the call ) and was suprised by the call. He definitly got the front axle though, then struggled for about 30 seconds ( when the float occured ) and then the rear axle tough.

The judge was ok other wise but I belive he was going with the old " beam of light idea".
Mic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 11:54 AM   #43
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Wayne county. PA
Posts: 2,502
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by renoirbud View Post
if you progress through gate 4 and when attempting gate 5 your truck goes out of control and scrambles accross gate 4, but does not touch the gate markers, that is no penaly right? Because gate 4 was already cleared?
i think if you cleared gate 4 clean and got your progress bonus -2 points and went on to gate 5 and had a fubar and rolled, flipped, tumbled, farted back towards and stradled gate 4 without touching it then no penalty if you DID NOT TOUCH IT....you cleared the gate already for progress and can only touch it for 10 point penalty "IF" i read that right....your not trying to clear it to get to gate 5 all over again for bonus points.......bob

....
bob1961 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 12:30 PM   #44
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sumter
Posts: 6,141
Default

I don't believe it's because you have already cleared it, but rather that straddling a gate only makes a difference when trying to progress the gate. In order to achieve progression without penalty you must pass all 4 tires between the gate markers. If you flip down a hill and tumble over a gate marker it is no penalty as long as you do not touch it.
ittybitty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 01:24 PM   #45
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Wayne county. PA
Posts: 2,502
Default

yeah that's what i was trying to say thx ........bob

....
bob1961 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 02:00 PM   #46
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 16,953
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ittybitty View Post
I don't believe it's because you have already cleared it, but rather that straddling a gate only makes a difference when trying to progress the gate. In order to achieve progression without penalty you must pass all 4 tires between the gate markers. If you flip down a hill and tumble over a gate marker it is no penalty as long as you do not touch it.
Exactly. This happened to me on a 1.9 course during our state finals and it was agreed that I was not attempting to progress the gate therefore a penalty would have only been awarded if my truck had actually touched the gate.
JeremyH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2012, 12:18 PM   #47
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Forbestown, CA
Posts: 417
Default Re: Common Rule Myths and Mistakes

This came up once in scale, and actually happened again in 2.2 so I would like to know if this is allowed.

My vehicle flips upside down and is doing the course upside down with front wheels touching at best, on the gate its at a angle uphill the rear tires make it through and due to the hill the car spins bringing them over the left gate and the fronts close but not through "no gates touched" and I take a roll over rolling the tires through the gate still not touching them, is this a penalty other then touching? with progress or would I need to attempt it all over again?

Also If my xr falls and one body click bust off and my body falls back making it twice as long would I be required to take a penalty to fix the body issue or complete the course without it?, Also if I was using a lightweight rig and had paper thin fiber glass panels and a chunk bust off "not replaceable" what would happen?
Absurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2012, 12:55 PM   #48
WAM
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: SoCal
Posts: 949
Default Re: Common Rule Myths and Mistakes

Quote:
Originally Posted by ittybitty View Post
I don't believe it's because you have already cleared it, but rather that straddling a gate only makes a difference when trying to progress the gate. In order to achieve progression without penalty you must pass all 4 tires between the gate markers. If you flip down a hill and tumble over a gate marker it is no penalty as long as you do not touch it.
TwistedCreations wrote earlier in this thread:

"If at any time you straddle a gate, it is a penalty as all gates stay alive (unless that gate has been deemed dead by touching, stepping or straddling the marker)"

Seems like either he must be wrong, or you must be wrong. Where in the rules does it say you are allowed to straddle a live gate just because you are not attempting to progress it?

BTW..."stepping"?

Last edited by WAM; 06-11-2012 at 12:57 PM.
WAM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2012, 01:07 PM   #49
Suck it up!
 
Duuuuuuuude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 11,652
Default Re: Common Rule Myths and Mistakes

If you straddle a live gate but do not touch it, its still live.

If you straddle a live gate, even if you are not trying to progress it, its still a penalty. Moreso if it is a gate that is out of sequence than the one you are currently progressing towards.

If you have complete loss of control the vehicle (tumbling downhill) you will not be penalized for a "straddle" if you fly over a gate marker.
Duuuuuuuude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2012, 01:27 PM   #50
WAM
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: SoCal
Posts: 949
Default Re: Common Rule Myths and Mistakes

Quote:
Originally Posted by Duuuuuuuude View Post
If you straddle a live gate but do not touch it, its still live. .
Why? Isn't a straddle an instant penalty per 6.8? If so, once straddled the marker is dead? (per 1.5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Duuuuuuuude View Post
If you have complete loss of control the vehicle (tumbling downhill) you will not be penalized for a "straddle" if you fly over a gate marker.
Agree. Flying over is not straddling, also per 6.8.

Last edited by WAM; 06-11-2012 at 01:32 PM.
WAM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2012, 01:46 PM   #51
Suck it up!
 
Duuuuuuuude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 11,652
Default Re: Common Rule Myths and Mistakes

Quote:
Originally Posted by WAM View Post
Why? Isn't a straddle an instant penalty per 6.8? If so, once straddled the marker is dead? (per 1.5)
As I understand it, a marker has to be touched to be dead.

edit: had to go back and re-read the rule. Apparently a straddled marker is a dead marker. Oops.

Last edited by Duuuuuuuude; 06-11-2012 at 01:53 PM.
Duuuuuuuude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2012, 02:17 PM   #52
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Aurora, CO
Posts: 197
Default Re: Common Rule Myths and Mistakes

So here's a question regarding the straddle situation.

Is it the axle centerline that needs to get into the gray area (from the photo in post 1)only? Will it be the the plane from the front edge of the tires? Or would it be the rear edge of the tire (defined as a progress when on the rear tires)?

Marcus
Draggermirage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2012, 02:28 PM   #53
Suck it up!
 
Duuuuuuuude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 11,652
Default Re: Common Rule Myths and Mistakes

Quote:
Originally Posted by Draggermirage View Post
So here's a question regarding the straddle situation.

Is it the axle centerline that needs to get into the gray area (from the photo in post 1)only? Will it be the the plane from the front edge of the tires? Or would it be the rear edge of the tire (defined as a progress when on the rear tires)?

Marcus
I would say that if any part of an axle is above any part of the marker, it is a straddle. Where the tires are is irrelevant unless you are going the wrong way through a gate, which is a different kind of no-no.
Duuuuuuuude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 03:09 PM   #54
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: France
Posts: 238
Default Re: Common Rule Myths and Mistakes

Hello gentlemen , I need some help for clarify some situations . I read the rules and this thread but i got some misunderstood .
1) the truck is on a sidehill, he is going to gate 3 but, fall down and fly over the left gate marker of the gate 5 but not touch it (front axle inside the gate , rear axle outside the gate). No penalty ?
2)the truck is on a sidehill, he is going to the gate 3 but, fall down and fly over the left gate marker of the gate 5 but not touch it (the 2 left tires inside the gate and the 2 right tires outside the gate ) . Penalty for wrong direction course?
2)the truck is on a sidehill, he is going to the gate 3 but, fall down and roll down trough the gate 5 ( all the tires get trough the gate ) Penalty for wrong direction course ?
In advance thanks .
Cirederf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 03:19 PM   #55
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: EvilCrawlerDesigns@comcast.net
Posts: 3,511
Default Re: Common Rule Myths and Mistakes

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cirederf View Post
Hello gentlemen , I need some help for clarify some situations . I read the rules and this thread but i got some misunderstood .
1) the truck is on a sidehill, he is going to gate 3 but, fall down and fly over the left gate marker of the gate 5 but not touch it (front axle inside the gate , rear axle outside the gate). No penalty ?
2)the truck is on a sidehill, he is going to the gate 3 but, fall down and fly over the left gate marker of the gate 5 but not touch it (the 2 left tires inside the gate and the 2 right tires outside the gate ) . Penalty for wrong direction course?
2)the truck is on a sidehill, he is going to the gate 3 but, fall down and roll down trough the gate 5 ( all the tires get trough the gate ) Penalty for wrong direction course ?
In advance thanks .
Any time a gate is entered out of order or in the wrong direction (at least until the gate has been progressed), it is a course direction penalty. If I'm reading you correctly, in all of your examples, as soon as the truck entered the gate, time would stop and penalty assessed.
EvilTwin v2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 04:05 PM   #56
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: France
Posts: 238
Default Re: Common Rule Myths and Mistakes

Thanks EvilTwin v2
Quote:
Any time a gate is entered out of order or in the wrong direction (at least until the gate has been progressed), it is a course direction penalty. If I'm reading you correctly, in all of your examples, as soon as the truck entered the gate, time would stop and penalty assessed.
In the situation 1 only the front axle tires go between the gate marker. So there is no progress . It is written, higher, that to make a pirouette above a gate is not a penalty. From there comes my incomprehension. When a gate is considerate progress or attempted soon the rig fall on it ?
Cirederf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 06:06 PM   #57
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: EvilCrawlerDesigns@comcast.net
Posts: 3,511
Default Re: Common Rule Myths and Mistakes

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cirederf View Post
Thanks EvilTwin v2

In the situation 1 only the front axle tires go between the gate marker. So there is no progress . It is written, higher, that to make a pirouette above a gate is not a penalty. From there comes my incomprehension. When a gate is considerate progress or attempted soon the rig fall on it ?
The section on Course Direction reads as follows:

"Course Direction (10 pts) Gates must be cleared in their intended direction and sequence. Any part
of the vehicle entering an un-cleared gate in the wrong direction, or driven through out of sequence will result in a 10
point penalty.
The judge will stop time. The vehicle is then moved back by the driver to the previously cleared gate with
the rear axle aligned to that gate. If the vehicle cannot be aligned to the gate due to course design, the judge will
reposition the vehicle to the next stable location after the cleared gate. This location will be used for all drivers. Once the
gate is cleared and awarded progress it can be traveled in any sequence or direction."
EvilTwin v2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 09:18 PM   #58
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Great Outdoors
Posts: 651
Default Re: Common Rule Myths and Mistakes

What does "entering an uncleared gate" mean? Obviously driving any part of the truck between the markers from either direction. But if it tumbles over, maybe even way over the gate, nowhere near the markers?

It would seem like maybe a fly-over isn't entering. Yet you can legally progress with an accurate fly-over, so I'm not sure.
Hardline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 10:04 PM   #59
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: EvilCrawlerDesigns@comcast.net
Posts: 3,511
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hardline View Post
What does "entering an uncleared gate" mean? Obviously driving any part of the truck between the markers from either direction. But if it tumbles over, maybe even way over the gate, nowhere near the markers?

It would seem like maybe a fly-over isn't entering. Yet you can legally progress with an accurate fly-over, so I'm not sure.
You have to be able to enter a gate to get progress, so if you can progress a gate 6 feet above the ground, then you also have to accept that you can be penalized for entering a gate out of order or in the wrong direction at that height.
EvilTwin v2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 01:59 PM   #60
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: France
Posts: 238
Default Re: Common Rule Myths and Mistakes

Thanks a lot again it look more clear now .
What happened if the gate where the rig fall on is a gate already cleared ? In my previous example , not the gate 6 but the gate 2 .
If I understand correctly there is no penalty , only if the rig heat the gate marker still alive ?
Cirederf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com