Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Heritage Crawlers > Axial AX-10 Scorpion

Notices

Thread: Noob to crawler scene

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-11-2009, 09:42 AM   #1

Default Noob to crawler scene

Well my name is Angel and I'm new to the rc world and happen to have gotten into crawling. I come from the hobby of drag racing so naturally I know nothing about crawling. Luckily I stumbled upon this wonderful site which has guided me so far. Here are some pics of my RTR rig. Mods include 55t Axial motor, pen spring shock mod with spacer and spring on top of shock as well. It sits pretty low after the shock mod and lost clearance.My previous shock setup consisted of stock shocks with soft springs up front and stock springs in rear. I like the way it crawls with the new setup better just don't like the belly height. I just ordered the Edge chassis and hardware kit as well as strc links. Here are a few pics. If you guys have any tips for a beginer let me know. Thanks.

Last edited by GHRGRIMREAPER; 02-11-2009 at 10:32 AM.
GHRGRIMREAPER is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 02-11-2009, 10:29 AM   #2
Quarry Creeper

Welcome to this site...It's okay imo...i would get a little bit more ground clearance around 2.5", upgrade the steering links to aluminum...get a split battery pack on the axles to lower the center of gravity...star cut the foams and drill the wheels to allow air in and out.
It's just too stock...many other thoughts, but now its sounding like I'm the one building it.

I do love these crawlers tho....check out my build for some details....

My destroyer of Clods...
the3kid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2009, 12:49 PM   #3

Thanks for the link, I noticed you are running spacers on the outside of the shock on the piston. Is there an advantage to this from running one on the inside of the shock on the piston?
Old 02-11-2009, 02:03 PM   #4
Quarry Creeper