RCCrawler Forums

RCCrawler Forums (http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/)
-   Axial AX-10 Scorpion (http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/axial-ax-10-scorpion/)
-   -   double drag link steering (http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/axial-ax-10-scorpion/383846-double-drag-link-steering.html)

shemesh 05-16-2012 01:14 PM

double drag link steering

hi
i've got an AX10 RTR. the one with all plastic - i am a newbie.
i am having lots of fun with it!
lately i'm getting disturbed by its clumsy steering, i've already got rid of that servo saver and using a normal servo horn (still plastic).

what i'e noticed now is that the plastic tie-rod is very flexi and sometimes it makes my wheel face each other like so: / --- \

so i've started looking at some rigid steering setup and noticed that everybody is using the drag-link + tie-rod combination...
got me wandering...

why?
why not use two drag-links and eliminate the tie-rod?

get some round servo horn and attach 2 drag-link to both wheels! this will eliminate the "middle man" = the tie-rod.

am i missing something?
why not?

ax10 05-16-2012 01:19 PM

Re: double drag link steering

Your not missing anything. I have aluminum steering links. Short one goes from servo to steering knuckle. Long one connects both knuckles together

TSK 05-16-2012 01:40 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ax10 (Post 3734978)
Your not missing anything. I have aluminum steering links. Short one goes from servo to steering knuckle. Long one connects both knuckles together

Your setup is what he is not describing. He want's two drag links, one to each wheel as opposed to one drag link to one wheel and a tierod between the two.

And to anser the OP, no real reason not to run it like you mention, but unless the servo hron is centered in the axle, the wheels will not turn in equal amounts and the side with the shorter drag link will move less than the side with the longer drag link.

C*H*U*D 05-16-2012 01:52 PM