Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Brand Scale Rock Crawlers > Axial SCX-10

Notices

Thread: Newbie looking into a crawler

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-23-2013, 07:05 AM   #1
Pebble Pounder

Default Newbie looking into a crawler

Hey there guys. So I'm new to the crawler scene and have been looking for one for quite a while. I think I would like the SCX10 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon SCX10 Kit, and have a few questions:

1. Which servo would you guys recommend I use?

2. Which ESC/Motor Combo would be best for scaling and mild to moderate crawling?

3. Will the Futaba 4PLS work as a radio for this rig?

Thanks for any help!
electricrc68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 11-23-2013, 09:22 AM   #2
In the band for now.

Default Re: Newbie looking into a crawler

reading the stickies at the top of the page will help answering your questions
lemonhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 12:58 PM   #3
Pebble Pounder

Thanks. I actually did look there, but didn't find anything about servos, and there weren't really any combos listed...just individual escs/motors.
Old 11-23-2013, 02:36 PM   #4
RCC Addict

Quote:
Originally Posted by electricrc68 View Post
1. Which servo would you guys recommend I use?
I use a Hitec HS7954SH in my SCX10. You will need a external BEC unless you are running a ESC such as the BR-XL that has a higher amp capacity internal BEC.

Quote:
2. Which ESC/Motor Combo would be best for scaling and mild to moderate crawling?
Look at the HH TorqueMaster Expert 35T combo. Holmes Hobbies LLC

Quote:
3. Will the Futaba 4PLS work as a radio for this rig?
It would work really well, it is a nice radio but expensive. A cheaper alternative is the FlySky GT3B. Flysky GT3B
k7zpj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 03:36 PM   #5
Pebble Pounder

Quote:
Originally Posted by k7zpj View Post