Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Brand Scale Rock Crawlers > Axial SCX-10

Notices

Thread: Built my first rig, need some pointers

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-12-2014, 02:09 PM   #1

Default Built my first rig, need some pointers

Hey guys, I hope I get some responses despite the total noob title. I just finished my SCX10 Honcho chassis build, just aesthetic stuff is left now.
I ran into some issues here and there, so I'll ask them all in one thread:

• The Y link connection point near the motor is blocked off by my Axial 27T motor. I can't get the nut on. What is up with that, this is an official recommended motor? See picture:
  • Filling the (stock) shocks with oil is ... a very imprecise science. I don't think mine are actually dampening as they should, since they work like springs too (the more they compress the more they push back). The amount of oil I put in obviously made a huge difference, if I filled to the edge they would be almost impossible to compress. I just used the 30WT that came with it. I kind of expected these to work better...
    I'm thinking either the oil is too thick, or the slots in the damper piston are too small? Or should i just get new shocks?
  • Not really SCX10 specific, but: i have a FlySky FSGt2B transmitter and a Hobbywing 1060WP. If the transmitter is turned off before the ESC is, it goes full throttle. WTF? I'm worried it's going to run off a cliff if my transmitter batteries die at some point. What can i do to just make it do err, nothing?
  • Stock gearing and a 27T is a bit faster than I would like (like jogging speed). What pinion should I get to reduce this a bit?
  • I really dislike the wheels that require glueing, feels really cheap compared to the rest of the kit. What's a good set of beadlock wheels? ProLine Denali?
Xoliul is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 11-12-2014, 03:47 PM   #2
I wanna be Dave

Default Re: Built my first rig, need some pointers