Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Brand Scale Rock Crawlers > Axial SCX10 II

Notices

Thread: How would the car do in a desert environment?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-06-2016, 02:15 PM   #1

Question How would the car do in a desert environment?

Hey everyone, I live in the UAE so I'm ways away from everyone here. We don't have much natural areas around here other than the desert and some rocky areas which are a 3 hour drive away!

Been getting into offroading with my Jeep (Actual Car) and I wanted to buy an RC car as well to enjoy in the desert. I know there are much better cars which are better suited for desert driving, but I can't stand the way they look. I won't be able to buy anything other than a scale model of an actual car and I like the way the SCX10 ii looks.

I'm planning on buying the kit to build myself (complete newbie btw), so if you could also give me some advice on the best way to build this. I want to be able to go fast with this car so any advice on motors, esc, servos and other mechanical components which I would need to manage high speeds with would be much appreciated. I've been doing research all day about this, starting to get the hang of it but all the different parts confuse me because I'm not sure what's compatible with what...

Thanks for reading
macdeez is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 10-06-2016, 02:56 PM   #2
Quarry Creeper

Default Re: How would the car do in a desert environment?

I'm guessing for a desert racer (more speed than crawl) you will probably want to look into a brushless setup (motor / ESC). I'm running a 3000KV brushless setup myself, which already has decent speed on 2S, on 3S it should be more than fast enough. If you're really going for dunes, then you might want to consider some different tires. Look into some 1:1 jeepspeed vehicles for inspiration.