RCCrawler Forums

RCCrawler Forums (http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/)
-   Axial Wraith (http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/axial-wraith/)
-   -   magic smoke? (http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/axial-wraith/362086-magic-smoke.html)

crawler_noob 01-26-2012 02:21 PM

magic smoke?

Hey guys, I had a quick question for ya'll. I'm a noob so bare with me.

I have had my wraith for a little over a week and have had a few problems with it, the latest is smoke.
I have only ran about 4 or 5 battery packs threw the wraith. Today I was driving it around in the yard, threw the grass and crawling on a few bricks around the garden. I was going threw some tall grass and all of a sudden I see a cloud of smoke and all electricty goes out (fully charged battery). I go to pick it up and it smelled like something was burnt. Felt motor and it was pretty hot.

My question is, do you think this is my motor or ESC? I think its probably the motor, but the reason I ask is the thing is not getting any juice at all, no lights, nothing. Even fully charged battery again and still nothing!

Please help, or atleast tell me what ya'll think this could be, because I have no clue. :?:

jacobfreeman 01-26-2012 02:27 PM

Re: magic smoke?

Real quick way to find out: Plug the battery into the ESC.. is the ESC turns on then it's your motor..
It's more than likely just the motor... I burned up my stock motor pretty quickly..

Erbing 01-26-2012 02:29 PM

Are all your wire connections good, what other problems did you have before?

crawler_noob 01-26-2012 09:36 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Erbing (Post 3527686)
Are all your wire connections good, what other problems did you have before?

Yeah, my connections are good that was one of the problems I had, but fixed that.

1. Luckily everything worked out of the box, but within an hour of driving it I stripped the servo horn by jumping it of one step probably 6 to 8 " tall.