Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Brand Scale Rock Crawlers > Axial Wraith

Notices

Thread: RTR & kit why no pro builds?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-12-2016, 07:29 AM   #1

Default RTR & kit why no pro builds?

Hi everyone.
UK RC newbie here.
Very much enjoying the info in these threads.
I'm keen to get myself a Wraith.
Info on this forum has left me wondering why comps like Axial don't offer higher spec builds?
I do see the fun in upgrading but it does take skill knowledge and experience and seems to result in wasted componants.
Also seems that upgrading in UK is much more difficult than US & Canada due to shipping cost/time and import duties.
Funds burning a hole in my pocket for a Wraith but it seems like a lot more expenditure is required to get the car to crawl as it should.

Karl.
Kaptastic is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 03-12-2016, 11:04 AM   #2
Rock Stacker

Default Re: RTR & kit why no pro builds?

I'm not sure why companies like Axial don't offer a higher spec RTR or kit. The Spawn kit has some nicer components so that may be an option for you to start. I would assume that because of the nature of this segment of the hobby, being able to massively customize a vehicle, that of a company offered a customized kit, people would want something else that what the kit offered. Hard for a company to anticipate the customizing desires of consumers.
I know when I bought my Wraith kit I ended up not using half of the upgrade parts that come with the kit. I would have been better off buying the RTR, selling the electronics for money to upgrade the rest. Would have possibly come out ahead and not a pile of parts I'm not going to use.
Most of the advise I saw was to buy the RTR and upgrade as you break things. But with you being in the UK, I can understand the difficulty in acquiring parts.
mikl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2016, 11:36 AM   #3
Quarry Creeper