Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: How to get the most run time

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-06-2009, 05:23 PM   #1

Default How to get the most run time

Hi, Im new to the electric rc world. I am in progress with a crawler build. I am wondering how to get the most run time on a single battery pack. Would a 5000 maH run longer than a 2000 maH?

Thanks,

Melton
Melton is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 05-06-2009, 05:30 PM   #2
Quarry Creeper

Quote:
Originally Posted by Melton View Post
Hi, Im new to the electric rc world. I am in progress with a crawler build. I am wondering how to get the most run time on a single battery pack. Would a 5000 maH run longer than a 2000 maH?

Thanks,

Melton
Yes,by far.
smokin0137 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 05:40 PM   #3
TEAM MODERATOR

Yes it would.

Gearing down and adding lightweightness will increase run time. Higher turn motors draw less amperage,so that helps as well. Putting your throttle finger on a diet will make a HUGE improvement on run time.

A guy can get crazy with it and get his truck to run for 6-7 hours or more on a single charge....but the performance would pretty much suck.
Reflection is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 05:40 PM   #4
Rock Crawler

when looking at batterys there is 2 things voltage and MAH, voltage is the power rateing (7.4v 11.1v etc) and the mah is the amount of power the cell holds, so a 5000mah battery in theory would last 2.5x long then a 2000mah.

when you get into lipos you have to look at voltage, mah and "C"rateing (the amount of amps the batter puts out)
ultimate_monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 05:52 PM   #5
Suck it up!

Think of battery sizes like this:

Voltage is like horsepower, and the mah rating is like the size of your gas tank.
Duuuuuuuude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 06:09 PM   #6
Rock Stacker

Quote: