Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: Spektrum SR300 Range Issue

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-29-2010, 01:44 PM   #1
Quarry Creeper

Default Spektrum SR300 Range Issue

I'm using the subject RX mounted on top of a stock Berg chassis right next to a Punk Dig 2+. Once the crawler is about 40 ft away I lose radio contact. TX is the Futaba 3PK (older version) with a Spektrum module.

I'm pretty confident this is not normal but since I am new to 2.4gHz in ground vehicles, I want to make sure before sending things back to Horizon.
Knarly Nerd is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 05-29-2010, 02:04 PM   #2
JSN
Quarry Creeper

I use the spketrum modual with 3 SR300's and the 2.4 receiver that comes stock with the MRC along with my 3PKS... I can't say how far they will go as I use them in crawlers like you BUT I've went at least 150ft away with NO issues... I'm sure I could go as far as a FM 75Mhz set up would take me.

Have you tried moving things around to get the receiver as far away from the batt,ESC and maybe BEC? I have all the electronics cramed together on my MRC with NO issues but maybe moving the receiver away from everything might help. Try to keep the antenna away the chassis and other metal stuff... I have mine laying down but maybe try getting the antenna vertical in a small tube or something.

John
JSN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2010, 02:16 PM   #3
Quarry Creeper

Thought I would ad a few pics...

Last edited by Knarly Nerd; 10-22-2010 at 12:31 AM.
Old 05-29-2010, 02:26 PM   #4
JSN
Quarry Creeper

Looks nice and clean the only thing I can suggest and I don't think it will help... move the receiver away from the punk and see if it's any better.
Old 05-29-2010, 02:33 PM   #5
JSN
Quarry Creeper