Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: electronics questions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-01-2011, 01:55 PM   #1

Default electronics questions

Hey all...I am building my first XR10 and was looking for some advice on what the best esc's and motors would be? Also I'm new to lipo so any information there as far what milliamp rating I should get would be helpful as well...Thanks!
xr10ster is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 10-01-2011, 02:02 PM   #2
I wanna be Dave

Best is what you can afford as well as doing what you want/need.
Charlie-III is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2011, 02:23 PM   #3

Gee thanks Charlie III...I was hoping for some manufacturer/model recommendations that I could price out and make a decision from..got any?
Old 10-01-2011, 03:28 PM   #4
RCC Addict

Personally I prefer Tekin's FXR but others like Castles and others like Novaks. Some prefer using a brushless ESC so they can pull it out and put it in a racer. Others just like whatever they bought.

Are you planning to comp or play around? Do you want to go brushless or brushed? Have you checked out your local comp club to see what they use? If they're like mine you'll see four rigs with four different set ups.

Lipo size is easy, 3S 400 to 850 mah packs are nice and small but still let you finish a comp.
AreCee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2011, 04:30 PM   #5
I wanna be Dave

Quote:
Originally Posted by xr10ster View Post
Gee thanks Charlie III...I was hoping for some manufacturer/model recommendations that I could price out and make a decision from..got any?
Am I a PITA??? maybe
You ask a broad question, I gave a PITA answer.
Not being a butthole, if there are 20 brands, you will get 20 answers.

Mostly, my son & I run Castle Creations ESC's. We run a mix (of vendors) of brushed motors. We run 2S & 3S battery packs from CheapBatteryPacks.com.