Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Miscellaneous > Formula Offroad

Notices

Thread: Apples to Oranges?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-26-2014, 01:45 PM   #1
IPT
Quarry Creeper

Default Apples to Oranges?

Hey guys, I'm a relative newbie to RC and so far am having a blast. Especially thanks to communities like these to help me learn as I go along. I started out with Stampede 4x4 and upgraded it to a Castle 3800KV motor on 2s with the stock gears except a 9t pinion to keep heat down. That thing flies, literally on the ground and in the air.

So, then I find this community and LOVE the more scale look and crawling ability of the wraith. THEN, I find this sub category and see the speed aspect of your builds.

I just finished my Wraith kit build with stock tranny gears, RR 56t spur and 13t pinion, stock diff gears, Hobbywing 3656SD 3400KV motor and caslte MMP ESC. I'd have to say it pails in comparison to my Stampede in terms of speed. I know it needs tweaking but it got me thinking in general. Since I have no other reference than these two vehicles I am wondering what you guys with more experience have to say about that comparison and my perspective. Can a properly set up Wraith do what the Stampede does, or out perform it, or are these two totally different rigs made for different things with no business being compared?

I imagine the independent suspension on the Stampede is a plus, but in the snow the lack of true 4wd is a con. Maybe I need a Wraith for crawling and just tooling around and the Stampede for high octane bashing but seeing this section makes me wonder if that is accurate or I am just under informed?

n open discussion would be cool I think (at least it would help me!) about the pros and cons of these different set ups you all have chosen for your ride. What are the capabilities of a properly built Wraith (or other platform)? Anyone up for a conversation?

Last edited by IPT; 05-26-2014 at 02:38 PM.
IPT is offline   Reply With Quote