Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > General Crawlers

Notices

Thread: Exoskeleton

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-25-2011, 07:45 PM   #1
Quarry Creeper

Default Exoskeleton

hey guys, im gonna try to make an exo skeleton for my scx10 f150 body. i apologize if this isnt the right place to post this.

i picked up some brake line today and been messing with it trying to get it straight and make good bends because this is my first time at trying something like this. i picked up a few good tips to straighten it but im kinda having trouble with getting good bends. what im doing to keep it symmetrical is taping to peices of pipe side by side and bending them at the same time with my vice. im not too worried about kinks right now. i will look into getting a pipe bender but right now the vice is what i have to work with.

i will try to get some pics up within the next couple of days of what i have so far. ive never brazed before so i kinda have to teach myself. been watching alot of vids and reading about brazing. i just wanna do something simple not show quality but i would like it to look decent. the pipes i bent today didnt come out too bad but having a little trouble with the front cross pieces, im sure this roll of pipe wont last too long as i know im sure to make quite a few mistakes. im having trouble with keepin the pipe straight when i make my bends so any help there would be nice.

if you want to post up suggestions or tips that would be very appreciated.
all_scaled_out is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 04-25-2011, 07:55 PM   #2
I wanna be Dave

I usually buy straight lengths of brake line. I also use a bit of solid rod that is purchased from home depot.
One of the biggest things to getting brazing down is having the right torch and the right flux. I had an issue when I was trying to learn. After burning up over 20 bucks of silver solder, I was finally informed that I had been sold the wrong flux.