Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > General Crawlers

Notices

Thread: Newbie to RC

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-09-2020, 05:58 AM   #1

Default Newbie to RC

Hi RC Gurus,
AS the the title states, i am new to the RC scene and have been excited to get started on offroad rigs.

So for starters, i am an automotive engineer by profession, a petrolhead and a grease monkey.

To set the ball rolling, i have just ordered a HPI Venture SBK with a Proline Hilux body, wheels and tyres, a Hobbywing ESC and 540 brushless motor, Sanwa 3ch Tx and Rx, Lipo 3s system and some basic tools and accessories to go with the build. This is because i just wanted my first kit to be a build kit and not an RTR.

I am already thinking of my next rig with a bit of speed and bashing in mind, but i am stuck between 2 contenders that sort of fit within my budget. What you your recommendations be between:

1. Traxxas UDR with the open diff mod, no hop ups for now running on Lipo 3s

OR

2. Losi Baja Rey 1/10th (not Super Baja Rey) I know its a different scale..
with the following hop ups having read reviews and pros and cons
Alum Steering Bell Crank
Alum servo mount
Alum Servo arm
Steel steering Turn buckles
Alum Front Spindles
RPM Front upper and lower arms
Upgraded servo
Alum Front Shock tower
Rear Alum lower trailing arms
Rear Alum upper trailing arms
Rear Alum Diff trailing arm bracket
Rear Alum Upper and Lower bulkhead Trailing arm brackets
10T pinion gear

running on Lipo 3s

Both these options are working out at the same cost.

What are your opinions and views?

I am leaning more towards the Losi Baja Rey, because its still in the 1/10th scale class which i'm starting with and it seems to be pocket friendly including all the above upgrades which should make it more stronger than in its stock form, not to mention the enjoyment of wrenching on it from day 1.
Bhudia is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 07-09-2020, 11:24 AM   #2
RCC Addict