RCCrawler Forums

RCCrawler Forums (http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/)
-   HPI Wheely King (http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/hpi-wheely-king/)
-   -   noob droop question (http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/hpi-wheely-king/71967-noob-droop-question.html)

jason3114 05-16-2007 07:27 AM

noob droop question

Hey guys, noob here, so bare with me. Anyway, I have a WK 4x4 on a SW 2 currently. stock electronics, 65 T motor, pede tranny, soon to be WK tranny & clocked motor plate, 9/93 gearing, 12.5 inch wheel base, custom links, narrowed HPI stock rims, Mashers, BTA steering, custom rear axel plate to match front, and I have a tuber almost ready. I have done my homework and thanks to all those who have posted such great ideas and templates! "thumbsup" My Question is: How do you set up a shock for droop and how vertical should they be? I have read with the "search" feature and I understand why it works just not sure how to assemble the shock to preform this. I have stock WK shocks for now and was going to run SAE 30 motor oil instead of shock oil. What size and strength should the inner springs be and where do they go? any advise would be great and hopefully I will have pics soon! "thumbsup" :twisted:

Harley 05-16-2007 11:02 AM

I am working on my first full droop setup right now but this is what i "know":

Run the lightest springs you can find, put them in the shock body first then insert the piston. This will "compress" the shock at rest.

Or JIA used 1000wt diff oil ONLY in the King Bling WK Tuber. He seemed to like it, so that is another route for you to go.

On a side note, I would keep the pede tranny.

BJoe 05-16-2007 11:40 PM

I'm playing with Savage shocks on my stock wb truck as a drooper, I'll keep things up to date as I get the time.

pbfrk4life 05-17-2007 03:44 AM