Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: which ESC for a Trail truck?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-01-2008, 12:05 AM   #1
Rock Stacker

Default which ESC for a Trail truck?

Hi guys, I am very new to RC and is looking for some advice on ESC.

I currently have a Tamiya Hilux truck sit on shelf without electronics. I also plan to use my tax rebate check toward a RC4WD trail truck kit. Which ESC should I purchase for these two trucks?

Here is my radio / servo choice.

Spektrum dx7
AR6100 receiver
Hitec 5955TG

It appears most ppl here use either Mamba max or Tekin fxR. Which is better for my situation? Also, what is a BEC and is it absolutely necessary for Mamba ESC? Which out of the two (brush / brushless) motors is more popular in trail truck or crawler setup?

many thanks in advance~ :-P
psun786 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 06-01-2008, 12:34 AM   #2
RCC Addict

The mamba and the FX-R are both great ESC's, but the mamba is not necessary for your purposes. The Sidewinder will do everything the mamba does; the only real difference is that the mamba will handle 100 amps continuous, the sidewinder will do 70. Crawler motors pull so little amperage, you'll never see that kind of continuous power, so the mamba is overkill in most cases.

Here's the pros and cons of the sidewinder (or mamba max), as I see them:
Castle's excellent customer service (when I say excellent, I really mean it.)
Brushless ready
Smooth throttle
Rated to 14.4 volts
Kinda big (not huge, just bigger than the FX-R)
Very few programming options without computer

FX-R
Great drag brake
TIny!
Lots of field programming options without a computer
Smooth throttle
Not technically rated for 3 cell lipo use. Tekin says they'll review warranty claims on 3 cell/lathe motor applications on a case by case basis, which is no guarantee of an approval. They seem not to have a problem with it though, and it does have a 3 cell cutoff