Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: First timer, what do I get?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-09-2011, 01:12 AM   #1

Default First timer, what do I get?

I am totally new to the RC world. Of course as a kid I had my share of RC cars and trucks but nothing special. I have considered getting a crawler many times but then the idea just goes away after a while of not knowing what to get or what to do.

So my question is, what is a good crawler to start with? I've been reading as much as I can and it looks like most people say start with the Axial SCX10 or the AX10 and a few mention the Losi Night Crawler. I don't know anything about brands since I have absolutely no knowledge of any of this.

I am not planning on doing any comps but I wont turn down a comp ready rig. I am willing to build a kit if anyone has a good list of parts to start with.

Money is somewhat of an issue and being my first time of course I don't want to go all out and spend thousands on an RC. The way I see it is, theres no sense starting with the best since you can't enjoy the build up. So I want something stock and I'll mod it a bit if recommended.

I like the idea of the Honcho simply because its got that 'real crawler' look to it. But any and all suggestions are greatly appreciated!

Cheers,
Sean

PS, can't wait to read up on everything you guys do here, I just found the site and I am stoked to learn more!

EDIT: I have also seen some people mention the Venom Creeper I believe it is called. Again, no idea what is good and what isn't. Please help!

Last edited by Sean W; 02-09-2011 at 01:58 AM.
Sean W is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 02-09-2011, 01:59 AM   #2
Rock Crawler

A Honcho/scx-10 would be a great choice Now it comes with a 2.4ghz radio & a drag brake ESC. ( so does the AX10 RTC) You really cant go wrong with either, it just comes down to what you like better, a scaler or a comp type crawler?