Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: Servo broke, doing a few upgrades and need your help

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-25-2015, 02:44 AM   #1

Default Servo broke, doing a few upgrades and need your help

Rig: Axial Wraith Poison Spyder RTR

Hi! New-to-the-hobby college student here!

I love my Wraith. I’ve been riding it stock for the past 6 months or so, and I finally broke something, the servo. I want my rig to be mostly for trails/crawling/water/mud. I like to go on walks in a wash near my house and it’s a perfect playground for a crawler.

I’m looking to repair the servo that broke when I bashed the front passenger wheel a bit hard. Steering has no power under load. Now the servo I picked out is similar to the Hitec 7980 which (from my research) requires some dremeling for the servo to fit the mount properly. I have a dremel tool, but I need a basic RC toolkit that someone can hopefully recommend.

I also want to learn how to waterproof my wraith for deep water/mud, so if anyone could link me/inform me of some info or videos on how to go about doing that would be great.

Other upgrades to do include: Motor, ESC, titanium links, and a stage one kit.

Upgrades-to-do (in order of importance)

1. (Repair broken servo) Hitec RCD HS-M7990TH High Voltage, Mega Torque, Magnetic Encoder Servo
2. Racer's Edge Aluminum Pro Single-Sided Servo Horn for Hitec (Blue)
3. Axial AX8091 2.2 Rocksters Beadlock, Black
4. CrawlMaster Pro 540 16t (Holmes Hobbies has various options available. What are they? Which ones would be good to take?
5. Holmes Hobbies TorqueMaster BR-XL WaterProof (Same question as above, what options to opt for?
6. VP Aluminum Knuckles, C-hubs and Lockouts
7. VP Titanium Link set

I'm hoping to do these in order, if I should do something different please let me know! I'll be sure to post pics and a vid sometime after it's repaired!
azlnick is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links