Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: Motor insulator pad purpose And let me introduce myself - MSgt Kirkes, USAF retired

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-23-2018, 10:28 PM   #1

Smile Motor insulator pad purpose And let me introduce myself - MSgt Kirkes, USAF retired

So my Vatarra Ascender has a brown plastic(?) insulator disc sandwiched between the motor and and the aluminum tranny motor plate. I first started seeing this insulator abuot 15 years ago. I assumed the insulator was used on cars with motors that mount on Plastic transmissions. The cars that I put together as a kid did not have this. I always assumed the addition of the plastic spacers serve to insulate a hot motor from melting the plastic transmissions. But now I’m assuming it’s purpose for a motor that mounts to an aluminum transmission is to protect the finish of the aluminum. Thoughts?

I know I look like a noob here but believe me when I say I am no noob when it comes to Understanding complex mechanical things. And I’m sure there’s a lot more of people like me in this forum and I only want to instigate a methodology question here. I’m a retired Master Sergeant of 20 years in United States Air Force. My job was to repair avionics systems across multiple Aircrafts as well as multiple platforms of automated test stations used for operational testing of those avionics components. Now that I’m retired I have more time on my hands to interact with this for him instead of just reading.

Last edited by ThunderDan74; 03-24-2018 at 09:17 AM. Reason: My grammar made this a word salad, but I like steak.
ThunderDan74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 03-24-2018, 10:20 AM   #2
Quarry Creeper

Default Re: Motor insulator pad purpose And let me introduce myself - MSgt Kirkes, USAF retir

I am fairly certain the disc you refer to is used to stop vibrations, hold the motor in place, and prevent motor screws from backing off / loosening up.