Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: New to Crawling - Electronics Question

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-21-2019, 11:19 PM   #1

Question New to Crawling - Electronics Question

Hey guys & gals,

I'm new to crawling but I race 10th onroad & offroad so not new to RC.

I've got my heart set on a Vanquish VS4-10, but I'm abit lost when it comes to electronics for it - im used to how many turns a motor has not Kv.

I'm a big fan of Tekin, so i was thinking a T-440 servo, although Im not sure the difference between the 360 & 440 as they are the same price.

Tekin RX4 ESC, with a Tekin Motor - I was thinking a ROC412 3100kv version?

What would you recommend? And do i need to run a 2S or 3S battery? Is it just longer run time or does the motor size determine what battery I need?

Any and all help greatly appreciated.

Cheers,
DamageNZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 01-22-2019, 01:10 AM   #2
I wanna be Dave

Default Re: New to Crawling - Electronics Question

Kv is rpms x volts unloaded.

So a 3100 kv would give 26000 rpm on 2s potentially and 34000 rpms potentially on 3s.

40:1 gearing

Translation.... My scx10II can launch off a step easily and catch air off jumps Slings mud into my eyes if I am not careful and has all the wheelspeed I could want in this chassis. (10-11 mph guess here) but still has great control on 3s. 10II should be very similar to the vs4.

Another option is a Tekin fxr and 35t brushed motor on 3s. Its a tried and true combo that has a good balance of wheel speed and smooth control. about 4 mph ish.
lonleycreeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2019, 06:10 AM   #3

The Tekin 3100kv motor is a very popular motor around here. Tons of power, and great wheel speed, especially on 3S.