Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Paint and Body

Notices

Thread: Creeper Jeeper

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-12-2013, 02:02 PM   #1

Default Creeper Jeeper

First Post!

I thought I'd start with a splash. Three weeks ago I decided to scratch build a scale jeep body for my Creeper. I'm new to rock crawling (and to some extent, RC's in general) but decided I would see what I could do without any past knowledge or skill in working with styrene. Boy have I learned a lot!

My first decision was what Jeep to build. As I kid in the 70's I built a CJ7 "Renegade" model that I have never forgotten. However, after scouring Jeep pics for ever, I decided on a CJ8 Scrambler. Here was my inspiration:

The following posts will chronicle my adventure to date...
CTRuckus is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 02-12-2013, 02:13 PM   #2

Default Re: Creeper Jeeper

My objective was to build a scale body, but still run it on my comp crawler. Of course this posed certain build issues, primarily maintaining articulation under a scale body. My goal was to make it as scale as possible while still keeping the creeper a creeper. (I'll build a true scaler another day.)

Judging by the actual dimensions of the Scrambler, and comparing it to the wheelbase of the creeper, I settled on a 1/9th scale. Width and length should look good on creeper at that scale.

I then set out finding as many accurate pictures of the scrambler (photos and drawings) as I could to get measurements of every angle.

I then started building:

Can you guess what this is?

I wasn't sure how to build the curves of the hood and was most intimidated by it, so I started there. I decided to build a skeleton frame with .08 styrene and skin it with .015. My belief was that the .015 would bend easily around the frame I was building.

Not a bad start, I thought. However, I was soon going to learn the flaw of my design.
Old 02-12-2013, 02:23 PM   #3