Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Paint and Body

Notices

Thread: Cut before paint?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-17-2022, 11:38 AM   #1
Quarry Creeper

Default Cut before paint?

Total newb question. I'm building the Proline Ranger body that has some sizeable cutouts in the lexan to accommodate molded scale pieces (namely headlight buckets and such).

Should I paint before cutting, or cut before painting?

My concern is burning the paint using rotary tools to cut the headlights out of the lexan if I cut after paint. Similarly, I'm worried about FUBARing the overspray mask if I cut before paint.

What is the best practice?
Bray D is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 11-17-2022, 12:00 PM   #2
RCC Addict

Default Re: Cut before paint?

I used to paint a lot of bodies and for various reasons have done it both ways. I don't think messing up the mask is a huge concern as any over-spray can quickly be removed with alcohol wipes or something similar. But when using a rotary-tool ( sanding drum) to finalize the finishing, you often get a rough line of lexan that winds up having to be removed and that's why I sometimes tend to finish/ smooth all the cutouts prior to painting rather than going back in after painting. Because that rough edge eventually needs to be removed ( either with a thumbnail, x-acto, or rotary tool attachment at an angle) you can sometimes mess up either the paint or the edge of the cutout itself. That's why most of the time I try to finish everything before paint.
high plains drifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2022, 05:11 PM   #3
Quarry Creeper

Seems logical to me. I'll go ahead and cut everything out before painting.
Old 11-18-2022, 05:35 AM   #4
I wanna be Dave

I always cut before paint. I painted once before and when cutting out the wheelwells and such I scratched up the paint. Lesson learned!
OSRC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2022, 06:51 AM   #5
Quarry Creeper