Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Redcat Crawlers

Notices

Thread: rs10 newb

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-20-2010, 09:26 PM   #1
Quarry Creeper

Default rs10 newb

Ok so i am new to this rock crawling hobby. I have had rc cars before so I know a little about the hobby as a whole. My big question is this.....all things considered is the RS10 a pretty good kit? Also can it be adapted to handle c type battery packs? I like the motors on the axles. Not sure about the electronics though. Thanks to any and all posts and forgive my newbness.
ctracy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 07-20-2010, 10:11 PM   #2
RCC Addict

Well...to answer your big question first. Whether or not the RS10 is a good kit depends on how you look at it. On one hand...if you buy one with the mentality that it's an inexpensive, beginner oriented, RTR rig that has cheapish electronics and parts to keep the cost down, but has a decent set of axles that are a good foundation and is something you'll end up modding to be capable...I doubt you'll be disappointed with it. On the other hand...if you buy one expecting it to perform out of the box on the same caliber as more expensive comp rigs and get angry that the electronics aren't that great...you'll probably regret your purchase. Bottom line is do your homework, read some of our posts about the rig, and if you like what you read...pick one up.

As far as the battery packs...it depends on the voltage rating of the packs. If it's something you already have, give it a shot if you buy a RS10. Personally, I think those big battery packs are overkill and you can benefit yourself by picking up smaller, lighter battery packs.
jsowens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2010, 11:10 PM   #3
Quarry Creeper