Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Redcat Crawlers

Notices

Thread: Tools????

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-22-2014, 10:54 AM   #1

Default Tools????

I am new to the crawler world and have just ordered an RS10. I can't wait to get my hands on it. I am like a kid at Christmas. So to help control my anxiousness I have been looking up mods and such for my truck. One thing I either haven't seen yet or there isn't much on are tools.

I know there are other areas of the forum but I am looking for RS10 specific info. I am wondering if anyone can share some thoughts on a tool box for both home and in the field. Specifically what tools and spare parts are a must to have. Also any other tools or parts that aren't necessarily a must but I should think about having.

Any advice on this would be great.

Nate
natep98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 04-22-2014, 11:19 AM   #2
o-o
Pebble Pounder

Default Re: Tools????

#1 phillips screw driver

#2 phillips screw driver

A set of small pliers

a set of small allen wrenches (I think all the RS10 needs is a 1.5mm and 2.0mm wrench)

7mm socket and something to turn it with

These tool are all that's required to disassemble an RS10 completely. (unless I forgot something, these are the minimum tools needed for a complete tear down)

o-o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2014, 11:34 AM   #3
o-o
Pebble Pounder

Spare parts? The only spare part I keep is a $6.50 towerpro servo in my box. Initially there are some upgrades that you will need to do to make the RS10 dependable. After I did the upgrades mine hasn't broken since.

I used the Towerpro MG996R servos from ebay for $6.50 each. Although not the strongest servo, it's quite a bit stronger than stock and I haven't broke either of them since putting them on.

Steel differential gears. Although not a necessity, for only $13.49 a set I put them in anyway to never have problems.